Author Box
Articles Categories
All Categories
Articles Resources

Think Tank in America - The Beginning of US Superiority and Dominance - Book Review

November 21, 2010 | Comments: 0 | Views: 165

Over the years I've been quite fascinated by the RAND Think Tank, and always wondered what RAND stood for. I come to find that it stood for R and D - and later folks called said it stood for R-A-N-D = Research And No Development, in other words, just thinking, not a lot of doing - the brain behind the US industrial base's brawn if you will. Later, after retirement I formed a Think Tank which operates online and today, I completely understand what it is all about.

Now then, along the way in my observational and educational fact finding and gathering, I've come across a number of books on the topic. One of the books which sits on the top book shelf in front of my desk describes the rise of US dominance and the brains behind much of strategy - it was not by accident as you may have been led to believe. It was deliberate and there was a plan. This book I'd like to recommend to you if indeed, you are interested. The name of the book is: "Soldiers of Reason - The RAND Corporation and the Rise of the American Empire," (uncorrected version) by Alex Abello, published by Harcourt, New York, NY, (2008), 362 pages, ISBN: 978-15-10181-3.

The entire history of RAND is here in this work, and if you want to know about the Cold War, International Relations, Military Strength, Gulf War I or II, Vietnam Era, Global Trade, or any of the other strategies the US has employed over the years, you will find the hand of RAND involved. Are these Whiz Kids perfect, oh for Heaven's Sake no, but often their ideas became created realities and thus became the new norm, and the game changers, that historians later report on.

If you are wondering how it all came to be, or how these strategies shaped the way things are in the USA, then you'd be wise to read this book and then think on it. Please consider all this.

Lance Winslow is a retired Founder of a Nationwide Franchise Chain, and now runs the Online Think Tank. Lance Winslow believes writing 21,600 articles was a lot of work - because all the letters on his keyboard are now worn off..

Source: EzineArticles
Was this Helpful ?

Rate this Article

Article Tags:

Think Tank In America


Us Superiority




Book Review


Online Think Tank


Book Review

Finding and collecting vintage comic books for fun and profit is something that is interesting, but can be difficult. With so many places to look, narrowing down the options can be painstaking, until

By: Jorge Orduna l Book Reviews > Comics Humor l July 07, 2012 lViews: 286

Action packed story that reads like you are there in person. Lieutenant Commander Andrew Carlson was a U.S. Navy Seal. He was as rough and tough as they come. He was part of a mission to be inserted

By: Cy Hilterman l Book Reviews > Mysteries Thrillers l July 06, 2012 lViews: 278

"Look Me In The Eye, If You Dare!" Okay, all of You "Internet Millionaire Moguls," I want some answers, and I want them now.

By: Travis L Perkins l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 310

Crush it is a great "How to" book on using social media and being real with yourself on what you do. Gary is very passionate about what he does. The key to his success is blending who he is with what

By: Joe Mosed l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 547

My resolution this year was to knuckle down and do something to bring in some new clients for my practice, so I was pleased to see that Internet Marketing Bible for Accountants looked like it might

By: Karen K Jefferson l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 296

When promoting your business online, are you using internet marketing? If you have yet to spread your branches into the online world, you ought to consider doing so.

By: Joyce McNeill Christopher l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 282

A book review on "Understanding Public Policy" by Prof. Paul Cairney. Recommendation of this very well structured, informative and up-to-date overview of public policy studies in political science.

By: Sebastian Hubert Gehartl Book Reviews > Politicsl June 12, 2012 lViews: 201

A dispassionate analysis of the most sensitive region in the context of extremism in the world, the book, coming from the former foreign secretary of Pakistan, is a breath of fresh air in the

By: Tarique R Memonl Book Reviews > Politicsl June 10, 2012 lViews: 276

This book is written by Farhat Taj and is a serious indictment of the state of Pakistan, especially its feared security agency, the Inter-Services Intelligence (ISI). The author is a Norway-based

By: Tarique R Memonl Book Reviews > Politicsl June 09, 2012 lViews: 224

The new roots of the healthcare system must be based on what the public wants - not what our misguided politicians want. Uproot U.S. Healthcare: To Reform U.S. Healthcare, by Deane Waldman, MD MBA,

By: Lauren S. Smithl Book Reviews > Politicsl February 06, 2011 lViews: 178

After reading Harry Markopolos's No One Would Listen, I had to shake my head in disbelief and mutter the old adage. "there's none so blind as those who will not see." Markopolos is a Chartered

By: Norm Goldmanl Book Reviews > Politicsl January 02, 2011 lViews: 202

Hollywood as the dream making machine of the US has played a very crucial role in winning the hearts and minds of the people during its lifetime since nearly a century ago. By making James Bonds and

By: Rezvan Bayatil Book Reviews > Politicsl January 01, 2011 lViews: 209

If you are going to write articles online, you are going to inadvertently increase your critical thinking skills. The reason is simple - because as you are preparing an article you are explaining to

By: Lance Winslowl Self Improvement > Mind Developmentl August 02, 2012 lViews: 302

Back when I was in high school and college I was a spectacular athlete, and I'm not afraid to say so now. At the time, it might not been inappropriate, as it would have shown an inflated ego, but I

By: Lance Winslowl Self Improvement > Mind Developmentl August 02, 2012 lViews: 496

Some say it takes brilliance to solve problems, and that may be so. The same folks will tell us that it takes a genius to not have the problem in the first place. Nevertheless, generally speaking

By: Lance Winslowl Business > Risk Managementl July 24, 2012 lViews: 239

Most people would agree that Mother Nature through evolution has done a wonderful job organizing things. There is a food chain, and cyclical events, and all the while all the species on the planet

By: Lance Winslowl Reference & Education > Naturel July 15, 2012 lViews: 218

A few months ago, I was at Starbucks talking to someone about stocks and bonds, he and his wife had worked hard and were worried about the stock market. They wanted something much less risky. He

By: Lance Winslowl Investing > Stocksl July 11, 2012 lViews: 433

Now then, have you ever wondered what's up with our known, sensed, and observed reality - have you ever considered that it all started with a simple plan, or a simple set of rules, much like particle

By: Lance Winslowl Reference & Education > Naturel July 08, 2012 lViews: 313

Discuss this Article

comments powered by Disqus