Author Box
Articles Categories
All Categories
Articles Resources

State Succession and Historical Challenges Considered - Book Review

October 19, 2010 | Comments: 0 | Views: 177

Nearly a decade ago, I entered a used book store in Calgary and found it most intriguing, it was an old two-story house, and every room was filled with used books for sale. I bought too many books, and since I was on vacation, I had them sent slow boat to China "no hurry" UPS, figuring by the time my vacation was over the books would arrive. Yes, I am kind of a bookworm amongst other things.

In any case one book I bought had intrigued me and it was on the dollar table there. I stuck it in one of my book shelves thinking that some day, I might need that information, and sure enough that someday appears to be upon me.

You see, today I run a Think Tank which operates online and we talk a lot about geo-politics. This book is about succession and it is well worth reading. No you cannot have my copy, as I have to keep this one for a reference - it is a topic that is re-occurring. Nevertheless, below is some information on the book in case you want to find an old copy somewhere - perhaps on eBay? The name of the book is:

"Succession - The Morality of Political Divorce from Fort Sumter to Lithuania and Quebec," By Allen Buchanan, Westview Press, San Francisco, CA, (1991), pages 174; ISBN: 0-8133-1132-2.

Although this book is almost 20-years old, it hardly matters, the implications of succession are all too common whether we are talking about former Soviet nations, European Union Nations, or even a US State such as Texas getting fed up with Washington DC's overbearing wielding of power. Texans don't seem to like that much.

It is eerily similar the historical accounts of succession and what brings men to devolve their former agreements to share synergies in a larger union. As a former franchisor, I understand the need to keep the union together, along with Abraham Lincoln's dilemma as the Civil War approached. After reading this book recently, I completely understand why the EU asked the IMF, and even the US to intervene with resources to assist in bailing out Greece to preserve the EU, as that would have far reaching implications world-wide.

This book is a great piece of research, and I'd put it up near some of wisdom I've found over the years reading Henry Kissinger's Essays, Winston Churchill's insight, or Allan Greenspan's memoir. If you are involved in a potential succession, I think you need to own your own copy of this book as well. So, please consider all this.

Lance Winslow is the Founder of the Online Think Tank, a diverse group of achievers, experts, innovators, entrepreneurs, thinkers, futurists, academics, dreamers, leaders, and general all around brilliant minds. Lance Winslow hopes you've enjoyed today's discussion and topic. - Have an important subject to discuss, contact Lance Winslow.

Source: EzineArticles
Was this Helpful ?

Rate this Article

Article Tags:

State Succession


Historical Challenges


Used Book Store













Finding and collecting vintage comic books for fun and profit is something that is interesting, but can be difficult. With so many places to look, narrowing down the options can be painstaking, until

By: Jorge Orduna l Book Reviews > Comics Humor l July 07, 2012 lViews: 286

Action packed story that reads like you are there in person. Lieutenant Commander Andrew Carlson was a U.S. Navy Seal. He was as rough and tough as they come. He was part of a mission to be inserted

By: Cy Hilterman l Book Reviews > Mysteries Thrillers l July 06, 2012 lViews: 278

"Look Me In The Eye, If You Dare!" Okay, all of You "Internet Millionaire Moguls," I want some answers, and I want them now.

By: Travis L Perkins l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 311

Crush it is a great "How to" book on using social media and being real with yourself on what you do. Gary is very passionate about what he does. The key to his success is blending who he is with what

By: Joe Mosed l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 547

My resolution this year was to knuckle down and do something to bring in some new clients for my practice, so I was pleased to see that Internet Marketing Bible for Accountants looked like it might

By: Karen K Jefferson l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 297

When promoting your business online, are you using internet marketing? If you have yet to spread your branches into the online world, you ought to consider doing so.

By: Joyce McNeill Christopher l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 282

A book review on "Understanding Public Policy" by Prof. Paul Cairney. Recommendation of this very well structured, informative and up-to-date overview of public policy studies in political science.

By: Sebastian Hubert Gehartl Book Reviews > Politicsl June 12, 2012 lViews: 202

A dispassionate analysis of the most sensitive region in the context of extremism in the world, the book, coming from the former foreign secretary of Pakistan, is a breath of fresh air in the

By: Tarique R Memonl Book Reviews > Politicsl June 10, 2012 lViews: 276

This book is written by Farhat Taj and is a serious indictment of the state of Pakistan, especially its feared security agency, the Inter-Services Intelligence (ISI). The author is a Norway-based

By: Tarique R Memonl Book Reviews > Politicsl June 09, 2012 lViews: 224

The new roots of the healthcare system must be based on what the public wants - not what our misguided politicians want. Uproot U.S. Healthcare: To Reform U.S. Healthcare, by Deane Waldman, MD MBA,

By: Lauren S. Smithl Book Reviews > Politicsl February 06, 2011 lViews: 179

After reading Harry Markopolos's No One Would Listen, I had to shake my head in disbelief and mutter the old adage. "there's none so blind as those who will not see." Markopolos is a Chartered

By: Norm Goldmanl Book Reviews > Politicsl January 02, 2011 lViews: 202

Hollywood as the dream making machine of the US has played a very crucial role in winning the hearts and minds of the people during its lifetime since nearly a century ago. By making James Bonds and

By: Rezvan Bayatil Book Reviews > Politicsl January 01, 2011 lViews: 209

If you are going to write articles online, you are going to inadvertently increase your critical thinking skills. The reason is simple - because as you are preparing an article you are explaining to

By: Lance Winslowl Self Improvement > Mind Developmentl August 02, 2012 lViews: 302

Back when I was in high school and college I was a spectacular athlete, and I'm not afraid to say so now. At the time, it might not been inappropriate, as it would have shown an inflated ego, but I

By: Lance Winslowl Self Improvement > Mind Developmentl August 02, 2012 lViews: 496

Some say it takes brilliance to solve problems, and that may be so. The same folks will tell us that it takes a genius to not have the problem in the first place. Nevertheless, generally speaking

By: Lance Winslowl Business > Risk Managementl July 24, 2012 lViews: 239

Most people would agree that Mother Nature through evolution has done a wonderful job organizing things. There is a food chain, and cyclical events, and all the while all the species on the planet

By: Lance Winslowl Reference & Education > Naturel July 15, 2012 lViews: 219

A few months ago, I was at Starbucks talking to someone about stocks and bonds, he and his wife had worked hard and were worried about the stock market. They wanted something much less risky. He

By: Lance Winslowl Investing > Stocksl July 11, 2012 lViews: 434

Now then, have you ever wondered what's up with our known, sensed, and observed reality - have you ever considered that it all started with a simple plan, or a simple set of rules, much like particle

By: Lance Winslowl Reference & Education > Naturel July 08, 2012 lViews: 313

Discuss this Article

comments powered by Disqus