Author Box
Articles Categories
All Categories
Articles Resources

Is Free Enterprise in America Yielding to a Socialist Leadership in DC? Book Review

June 28, 2010 | Comments: 0 | Views: 146

For some reason we seem to be having a little class warfare in America. These things have happened before, and not just in the United States, there has always been a divide between rich and poor. Unfortunately, and I believe it started with the whole "Joe the Plumber" argument during the last presidential election.

You see, Joe the Plumber, was a middle-class hard-working individual who wanted to start his own business and build it up, of course the then Junior Senator Obama from Illinois said that if he made over $250,000 a year he'd have to pay higher taxes. And when Joe the Plumber, had a problem with that, Senator Obama said; "come on man, share the wealth a little."

Unfortunately, for president Obama, but fortunately for the rest of America, Obama used a catch phrase which embodies socialism, thus, giving everyone a heads up to where he planned on taking a nation. This is when people started calling him a socialist, something that he completely denies, although judging by his actions with ObamaCare, the Stimulus Package targets, and his plans for taxation, job creation, and carbon credit Cap and Trade bill, one "could make a very strong argument" that he is a socialist in every sense of the word, as per the Oxford Dictionary.

However, I'm not going to do that, rather I'm going to recommend that you read a very good book, one which will shed some light on exactly what the Democrats are doing in Congress, how they are dividing America, and how they are killing capitalism. The name of the book is;

"The Battle; How the Fight between Free Enterprise and Big Government Will Shape America's Future," by Arthur C. Brooks, Basic Book Publishers, New York, NY, (2010) ISBN: 978-04650-193-80

This book is all about the culture wars and the debate between capitalism and socialism. It talks about the problems of the welfare state, and the author speaks to the realities and lessons of Ayn Rand's "Atlas Shrugged" and our founding fathers' Libertarianism. This book defends capitalism as strongly as Milton Friedman's book; "Free to Choose," and it is quite obvious that this author is quite pro-American, and very pro-capitalist. If you are a liberal-socialist voter you may not like this book, but you definitely need to read it.

If you are a Republican, Libertarian, or own your own business, or even if you just love America, you too will love this book. And I guarantee you recommend it to friends, I have, and I still do. I hope you'll please consider this.

Lance Winslow is the Founder of the Online Think Tank, a diverse group of achievers, experts, innovators, entrepreneurs, thinkers, futurists, academics, dreamers, leaders, and general all around brilliant minds. Lance Winslow hopes you've enjoyed today's discussion and topic. Have an important subject to discuss, contact Lance Winslow.

Source: EzineArticles
Was this Helpful ?

Rate this Article

Article Tags:

Free Enterprise In America


Yielding To A Socialist Leadership




Book Review


Basic Book


Good Book

Finding and collecting vintage comic books for fun and profit is something that is interesting, but can be difficult. With so many places to look, narrowing down the options can be painstaking, until

By: Jorge Orduna l Book Reviews > Comics Humor l July 07, 2012 lViews: 286

Action packed story that reads like you are there in person. Lieutenant Commander Andrew Carlson was a U.S. Navy Seal. He was as rough and tough as they come. He was part of a mission to be inserted

By: Cy Hilterman l Book Reviews > Mysteries Thrillers l July 06, 2012 lViews: 278

"Look Me In The Eye, If You Dare!" Okay, all of You "Internet Millionaire Moguls," I want some answers, and I want them now.

By: Travis L Perkins l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 311

Crush it is a great "How to" book on using social media and being real with yourself on what you do. Gary is very passionate about what he does. The key to his success is blending who he is with what

By: Joe Mosed l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 547

My resolution this year was to knuckle down and do something to bring in some new clients for my practice, so I was pleased to see that Internet Marketing Bible for Accountants looked like it might

By: Karen K Jefferson l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 296

When promoting your business online, are you using internet marketing? If you have yet to spread your branches into the online world, you ought to consider doing so.

By: Joyce McNeill Christopher l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 282

A book review on "Understanding Public Policy" by Prof. Paul Cairney. Recommendation of this very well structured, informative and up-to-date overview of public policy studies in political science.

By: Sebastian Hubert Gehartl Book Reviews > Politicsl June 12, 2012 lViews: 202

A dispassionate analysis of the most sensitive region in the context of extremism in the world, the book, coming from the former foreign secretary of Pakistan, is a breath of fresh air in the

By: Tarique R Memonl Book Reviews > Politicsl June 10, 2012 lViews: 276

This book is written by Farhat Taj and is a serious indictment of the state of Pakistan, especially its feared security agency, the Inter-Services Intelligence (ISI). The author is a Norway-based

By: Tarique R Memonl Book Reviews > Politicsl June 09, 2012 lViews: 224

The new roots of the healthcare system must be based on what the public wants - not what our misguided politicians want. Uproot U.S. Healthcare: To Reform U.S. Healthcare, by Deane Waldman, MD MBA,

By: Lauren S. Smithl Book Reviews > Politicsl February 06, 2011 lViews: 179

After reading Harry Markopolos's No One Would Listen, I had to shake my head in disbelief and mutter the old adage. "there's none so blind as those who will not see." Markopolos is a Chartered

By: Norm Goldmanl Book Reviews > Politicsl January 02, 2011 lViews: 202

Hollywood as the dream making machine of the US has played a very crucial role in winning the hearts and minds of the people during its lifetime since nearly a century ago. By making James Bonds and

By: Rezvan Bayatil Book Reviews > Politicsl January 01, 2011 lViews: 209

If you are going to write articles online, you are going to inadvertently increase your critical thinking skills. The reason is simple - because as you are preparing an article you are explaining to

By: Lance Winslowl Self Improvement > Mind Developmentl August 02, 2012 lViews: 302

Back when I was in high school and college I was a spectacular athlete, and I'm not afraid to say so now. At the time, it might not been inappropriate, as it would have shown an inflated ego, but I

By: Lance Winslowl Self Improvement > Mind Developmentl August 02, 2012 lViews: 496

Some say it takes brilliance to solve problems, and that may be so. The same folks will tell us that it takes a genius to not have the problem in the first place. Nevertheless, generally speaking

By: Lance Winslowl Business > Risk Managementl July 24, 2012 lViews: 239

Most people would agree that Mother Nature through evolution has done a wonderful job organizing things. There is a food chain, and cyclical events, and all the while all the species on the planet

By: Lance Winslowl Reference & Education > Naturel July 15, 2012 lViews: 219

A few months ago, I was at Starbucks talking to someone about stocks and bonds, he and his wife had worked hard and were worried about the stock market. They wanted something much less risky. He

By: Lance Winslowl Investing > Stocksl July 11, 2012 lViews: 434

Now then, have you ever wondered what's up with our known, sensed, and observed reality - have you ever considered that it all started with a simple plan, or a simple set of rules, much like particle

By: Lance Winslowl Reference & Education > Naturel July 08, 2012 lViews: 313

Discuss this Article

comments powered by Disqus