Author Box
Articles Categories
All Categories
Articles Resources

Title - The Reason We're Waiting - Author - Pat Clor - Book Review

August 02, 2010 | Comments: 0 | Views: 144

Did I read this book or maybe I only dreamed I did? How do I know I'm not still dreaming I'm writing this review? Perhaps the coffee I'm sipping is my reality check that I'm awake and writing this review, because everyone knows how difficult it is to sleep when your drinking coffee.

These are the tools Pat Clor uses for his juxtaposition of dimensional thought, his dancing through ontological realities, the twisting and spinning of cyclical logic. Pat Clor masterfully uses a character, Cindy Stark, a 12 year old girl from an imaginary world to personify his reality check in his extraordinary work of literary genius, "The Reason We're Waiting." Cindy is Clor's "Alice" and Pangaea is where she lives, in "Wonderland." Clor is like Lewis Carroll writing his doctorate thesis in Parmenides' Greek philosophy course. How Pat Clor taps into this amount of mental energy is beyond me, as his writing is so clear and creative I find it massaging my intellect while tickling my imagination. I would never imagine making the comment "The Reason We're Waiting," at over 770 pages, "flew by."

Pat Clor created a character who is a janitor in Walmart to narrate his epic story. That in itself has shock value to the reader as to how a janitor can become so consciously self-actualized. The story is a metaphor of fantasy, with fanciful characters running rampant. But the underlying meaning "peels the onion" on perception, of human existence, social and moral values, and most all aspects of life as we understand it, or rather how we misunderstand it. Just as Albert Einstein would use the analogy of a man on a train, traveling at the speed of light, walking to the front of the train is actually traveling faster than the speed of light, Pat Clor uses Cindy Stark, her family, the world she lives in to represent our misconceived human awareness.

It is impossible for me to adequately describe this book, but let me say that it is brilliant and refreshing. For me, "The Reason We're Waiting" is simply for those who wish to gain a better understanding of themselves and their surroundings. This book, exceptional in its quality, is an excellent choice to get you started on that interminable journey towards the ever so elusive Truth.

Fasten your seatbelt and prepare for the cerebral ride-of-your life because Pat Clor does not hold back any punches. "The Reason We're Waiting" is blatantly crude at times bordering on obscene, as Pat Clor gets down close and personal with his readers as no one is immune from his powerful literary license laced with stormy violent moments, discomforting criticism and upsetting visualizations. If you can't take it, don't read it. If you go through it, it will change you. The choice is yours. I would recommend a disclaimer needing to be signed before reading along with this -- Caution: Serious mental and physical reactions may occur. Read "The Reason We're Waiting" at your own risk.

Reviewed by: Gary R. Sorkin

Gary R. Sorkin is the Senior Editor for Pacific Book Review. Please visit Pacific Book Review at:

Source: EzineArticles
Was this Helpful ?

Rate this Article

Article Tags:

Pat Clor







Finding and collecting vintage comic books for fun and profit is something that is interesting, but can be difficult. With so many places to look, narrowing down the options can be painstaking, until

By: Jorge Orduna l Book Reviews > Comics Humor l July 07, 2012 lViews: 285

Action packed story that reads like you are there in person. Lieutenant Commander Andrew Carlson was a U.S. Navy Seal. He was as rough and tough as they come. He was part of a mission to be inserted

By: Cy Hilterman l Book Reviews > Mysteries Thrillers l July 06, 2012 lViews: 278

"Look Me In The Eye, If You Dare!" Okay, all of You "Internet Millionaire Moguls," I want some answers, and I want them now.

By: Travis L Perkins l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 309

Crush it is a great "How to" book on using social media and being real with yourself on what you do. Gary is very passionate about what he does. The key to his success is blending who he is with what

By: Joe Mosed l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 546

My resolution this year was to knuckle down and do something to bring in some new clients for my practice, so I was pleased to see that Internet Marketing Bible for Accountants looked like it might

By: Karen K Jefferson l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 295

When promoting your business online, are you using internet marketing? If you have yet to spread your branches into the online world, you ought to consider doing so.

By: Joyce McNeill Christopher l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 281

Sophie's World is a beautifully written tale (within a tale (within a tale)) that will take you to an inspirational journey through the history of philosophy. Dyed in the colors of mystery with a

By: Ameera Kamall Book Reviews > Philosophyl April 25, 2012 lViews: 266

Since the dawn of time history has been our story. A story with both fiction & non-fiction current events, and has written about the historical culture I admire so much...

By: Carmello C Antoinel Book Reviews > Philosophyl April 08, 2012 lViews: 185

"Re-Birth" is a fascinating subject which attracts the attention of scientists,Philosophers,Poets,fiction writers and also common men across the entire world. Thousands of stories have been written

By: Bhimarao Sathyanarayananl Book Reviews > Philosophyl March 23, 2012 lViews: 238

What is Intelligence? This is a question haunting the minds of researchers and Psychologists for centuries together. Existing definition of Psychologists defines Intelligence as supremacy in the

By: Bhimarao Sathyanarayananl Book Reviews > Philosophyl February 25, 2012 lViews: 207

The Handbook of The Navigator by Eric J. Pepin was written for those of us who seek the greater truths that lie hidden beneath the limited perspective of our society.

By: Vincent A. D'Erricol Book Reviews > Philosophyl February 05, 2012 lViews: 207

Lawyer and author Earle Josiah presents his thought-provoking and cogent philosophical theory on the power and freedom of the human spirit in his latest gem of a book, The Power and Freedom of the

By: Douglas Cobbl Book Reviews > Philosophyl November 21, 2011 lViews: 213

Start the water boiling because once you begin reading this book you'll want to make a cup of tea to savor along with learning the medicinal qualities of many popular tea varieties. Valerie B. Lull

By: Gary R. Sorkinl Book Reviews > Health Mind Bodyl April 04, 2012 lViews: 160

In the world of hard-boiled detective fiction, the story is generally not so much about solving a mystery as it is setting things up for the hero to take on the bad guys and win, usually with bullets

By: Gary R. Sorkinl Book Reviews > Mysteries Thrillersl March 31, 2012 lViews: 169

The title Araba, a word meaning "Let's Separate" or "Let's Dissolve," refers to the Nigerian Civil War which began in 1966 and continued for nearly four years. The word was first used by rioters at a

By: Gary R. Sorkinl Book Reviews > Historyl March 29, 2012 lViews: 186

Author Theodore Jerome Cohen brings his NYPD Detective Louis Martelli back with his partner Sean O'Keeffe in his novel Lilith, Demon of the Night, as the duo sleuths solve a bizarre series of murders

By: Gary R. Sorkinl Book Reviews > Mysteries Thrillersl January 19, 2012 lViews: 173

What we have here... no failure to communicate. George Kennedy has taken control of his autobiographical narrative on the subject of his own personal history in his revealing new book, Trust Me: A

By: Gary R. Sorkinl Book Reviews > Biographies Memoirsl January 11, 2012 lViews: 205

While reading Questions in the Balance by Christopher W. Boyden, it became abundantly clear why he has won so many awards and accolades for his published poetry. His work exemplifies classic poetry;

By: Gary R. Sorkinl Book Reviews > Poetry Playscriptsl October 18, 2011 lViews: 229

Discuss this Article

comments powered by Disqus