Author Box
Articles Categories
All Categories
Articles Resources

The Explosion of African-American Literature Onto the Web

December 13, 2010 | Comments: 0 | Views: 175

J.A Rogers wrote a book called, "The 100 Amazing Facts about the Negro," and it was far from being on the Best-Seller list. The young author's work was banned in some places. Some libraries refused to carry it, the content of the book was considered so overwhelming that the insightful piece of literature all but disappeared from sight. The fact it was written in 1934 is even more amazing. The book was created at a time when African-Americans' were 20 years away from the beginning of the historic Civil Rights Movement. His manuscript was one that described the contributions by African-Americans' to this country's success. It helped to open up the eyes of people who had the opportunity to read it, to the true travels of African-Americans'. The influence of the book is so incredible that it still can found on Amazon, 76 years later. With the help of the web, African-American history has been given the chance to really blossom.

The online movement of African-American Literature has just really begun to pick up speed. With sites, like Necole Bitchey, 21 Blackstreet, Bossip and other power-houses beginning to move full-speed ahead, the thoughts and spirit of another culture has moved ahead into another realm. I know J.A. Rogers, is in heaven basking in his glory. His literature secured his legacy and his thought influenced a nation. As young writers, all we can do is thank him and make sure we keep the torch burning. With the help of the web, all of our voices will be heard forever.

Defoncia Herndon is a Professional Writer and owner of Herndon Marketing. He can be reached at for any questions or projects.

Source: EzineArticles
Was this Helpful ?

Rate this Article

Article Tags:

African American Literature


African American Literature Onto


21 Blackstreet

Finding and collecting vintage comic books for fun and profit is something that is interesting, but can be difficult. With so many places to look, narrowing down the options can be painstaking, until

By: Jorge Orduna l Book Reviews > Comics Humor l July 07, 2012 lViews: 285

Action packed story that reads like you are there in person. Lieutenant Commander Andrew Carlson was a U.S. Navy Seal. He was as rough and tough as they come. He was part of a mission to be inserted

By: Cy Hilterman l Book Reviews > Mysteries Thrillers l July 06, 2012 lViews: 278

"Look Me In The Eye, If You Dare!" Okay, all of You "Internet Millionaire Moguls," I want some answers, and I want them now.

By: Travis L Perkins l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 309

Crush it is a great "How to" book on using social media and being real with yourself on what you do. Gary is very passionate about what he does. The key to his success is blending who he is with what

By: Joe Mosed l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 546

My resolution this year was to knuckle down and do something to bring in some new clients for my practice, so I was pleased to see that Internet Marketing Bible for Accountants looked like it might

By: Karen K Jefferson l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 295

When promoting your business online, are you using internet marketing? If you have yet to spread your branches into the online world, you ought to consider doing so.

By: Joyce McNeill Christopher l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 281

Sophie's World is a beautifully written tale (within a tale (within a tale)) that will take you to an inspirational journey through the history of philosophy. Dyed in the colors of mystery with a

By: Ameera Kamall Book Reviews > Philosophyl April 25, 2012 lViews: 267

Since the dawn of time history has been our story. A story with both fiction & non-fiction current events, and has written about the historical culture I admire so much...

By: Carmello C Antoinel Book Reviews > Philosophyl April 08, 2012 lViews: 186

"Re-Birth" is a fascinating subject which attracts the attention of scientists,Philosophers,Poets,fiction writers and also common men across the entire world. Thousands of stories have been written

By: Bhimarao Sathyanarayananl Book Reviews > Philosophyl March 23, 2012 lViews: 239

What is Intelligence? This is a question haunting the minds of researchers and Psychologists for centuries together. Existing definition of Psychologists defines Intelligence as supremacy in the

By: Bhimarao Sathyanarayananl Book Reviews > Philosophyl February 25, 2012 lViews: 208

The Handbook of The Navigator by Eric J. Pepin was written for those of us who seek the greater truths that lie hidden beneath the limited perspective of our society.

By: Vincent A. D'Erricol Book Reviews > Philosophyl February 05, 2012 lViews: 207

Lawyer and author Earle Josiah presents his thought-provoking and cogent philosophical theory on the power and freedom of the human spirit in his latest gem of a book, The Power and Freedom of the

By: Douglas Cobbl Book Reviews > Philosophyl November 21, 2011 lViews: 214