Author Box
Articles Categories
All Categories
Articles Resources

Book Review - The Power Of Now By Eckhart Tolle

October 04, 2010 | Comments: 0 | Views: 149

The Power of Now is one of my absolute favorite books in my bookshelf. Eckhart Tolle takes us on a journey to explore ourselves, our focus in life and widens our understanding of present moment awareness. Find out why his second book 'The New Earth' has been on Oprah's book list and why this has brought this book into the bestseller's list and has found its way into millions of people's hearts.


Eckhart Tolle's book is a means to draw reader into a new consciousness of themselves and their reality, 'to give us a taste of enlightenment' as Eckhart himself puts it.

The book follows the format of questions and answers and Tolle encourages the reader to take a break from reading frequently to let the content settle and awareness to sink in.

The Power of Now was published in 1997, has reached the New York bestseller lists in 2000 and has sold over three million copies in English.

More in details

The book starts with Tolle describing his own journey of self-transformation that started when he was twenty-nine years old. His intense spiritual experience brought him into intense awareness of the present moment, the now.

He then goes into detail about the nature of the mind and the fact that virtually everyone hears a voice inside their head all the time, the involuntary and often repetitive thought-processes of the mind. For some people reading this book this might be the first time they become aware of the above-mentioned process occurring and for others it might be just a relief to know that they are not the only ones experiencing this voice!

Tolle explains how our minds are conditioned to think and focus on past and future, anything rather than being present in the here and now. He encourages and offers suggestions on how to become more aware of our experience in the moment, for example by simply listening to the inner voice, without judging. This 'witnessing' allows the observer to become aware of it simply being a voice and that we don't have to identify with it.

About the author

Eckhart Tolle was born in 1948 in Germany. He is a writer, public speaker and spiritual teacher and has written two bestsellers: The Power of Now and The New Earth. Nowadays, he lives in Vancouver in Canada.


This book is for you if you are searching for deeper answers about the self, if you want to engulf in spiritual teaching and reach a deeper understanding of the difference between thinking and awareness.

Want to know more? Have a look at my blog.

Nathalie Himmelrich is the founder of 'Reach for the Sky Therapy' on Sydney's Northern Beaches and specialises in 'relationship related issues'. She is working with individuals and couples using techniques ranging from Counselling, Neuro Linguistic Programming to Journey Therapy. She supports clients in their personal growth in a supportive and professional environment.

Visit my website: or visit my blog: and sign up for our newsletter today.

Source: EzineArticles
Was this Helpful ?

Rate this Article

Article Tags:

Eckhart Tolle


Book Review


Present Moment


The Power Of Now


The New Earth






Book Club

Finding and collecting vintage comic books for fun and profit is something that is interesting, but can be difficult. With so many places to look, narrowing down the options can be painstaking, until

By: Jorge Orduna l Book Reviews > Comics Humor l July 07, 2012 lViews: 285

Action packed story that reads like you are there in person. Lieutenant Commander Andrew Carlson was a U.S. Navy Seal. He was as rough and tough as they come. He was part of a mission to be inserted

By: Cy Hilterman l Book Reviews > Mysteries Thrillers l July 06, 2012 lViews: 278

"Look Me In The Eye, If You Dare!" Okay, all of You "Internet Millionaire Moguls," I want some answers, and I want them now.

By: Travis L Perkins l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 309

Crush it is a great "How to" book on using social media and being real with yourself on what you do. Gary is very passionate about what he does. The key to his success is blending who he is with what

By: Joe Mosed l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 546

My resolution this year was to knuckle down and do something to bring in some new clients for my practice, so I was pleased to see that Internet Marketing Bible for Accountants looked like it might

By: Karen K Jefferson l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 295

When promoting your business online, are you using internet marketing? If you have yet to spread your branches into the online world, you ought to consider doing so.

By: Joyce McNeill Christopher l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 281

Sophie's World is a beautifully written tale (within a tale (within a tale)) that will take you to an inspirational journey through the history of philosophy. Dyed in the colors of mystery with a

By: Ameera Kamall Book Reviews > Philosophyl April 25, 2012 lViews: 267

Since the dawn of time history has been our story. A story with both fiction & non-fiction current events, and has written about the historical culture I admire so much...

By: Carmello C Antoinel Book Reviews > Philosophyl April 08, 2012 lViews: 186

"Re-Birth" is a fascinating subject which attracts the attention of scientists,Philosophers,Poets,fiction writers and also common men across the entire world. Thousands of stories have been written

By: Bhimarao Sathyanarayananl Book Reviews > Philosophyl March 23, 2012 lViews: 238

What is Intelligence? This is a question haunting the minds of researchers and Psychologists for centuries together. Existing definition of Psychologists defines Intelligence as supremacy in the

By: Bhimarao Sathyanarayananl Book Reviews > Philosophyl February 25, 2012 lViews: 207

The Handbook of The Navigator by Eric J. Pepin was written for those of us who seek the greater truths that lie hidden beneath the limited perspective of our society.

By: Vincent A. D'Erricol Book Reviews > Philosophyl February 05, 2012 lViews: 207

Lawyer and author Earle Josiah presents his thought-provoking and cogent philosophical theory on the power and freedom of the human spirit in his latest gem of a book, The Power and Freedom of the

By: Douglas Cobbl Book Reviews > Philosophyl November 21, 2011 lViews: 213

Anger is part of the grief cycle consisting of five stages as per Elisabeth Kubler-Ross. The other stages are denial, bargaining, depression and acceptance. It is important to note that experiencing

By: Nathalie Himmelrichl Self Improvement > Grief Lossl June 09, 2012 lViews: 185

The Alchemist is another one of my absolute favourite books in my bookshelf. Paulo Coelho's book is a metaphor that takes you on journey and you will be surprise how many different gifts people take

By: Nathalie Himmelrichl Book Reviews > Inspirational Fictionl March 14, 2012 lViews: 270

Dr. John Gottman says: 'If there is one lesson I have learned from my years of research it is that a lasting marriage results from a couple's ability to resolve the conflicts that are inevitable in

By: Nathalie Himmelrichl Book Reviews > Psychologyl February 07, 2011 lViews: 171

When I first looked at the book cover I thought 'Oh wow, this looks a bit too sweet for me' but I still bought it as it came recommended by one of my clients as a good and interesting read. This is

By: Nathalie Himmelrichl Book Reviews > Psychologyl February 07, 2011 lViews: 155

Have you always wondered why you get bored easily, never stick to anything for long periods of time, quickly lose interest in things or change your mind about what you want to do and end up doing

By: Nathalie Himmelrichl Book Reviews > Psychologyl January 26, 2011 lViews: 159

'The New Earth' is Eckhart Tolle's second book, which also became a bestseller. Even though it takes time to digest and understand Tolle's language his book has stirred up a lot of insight and

By: Nathalie Himmelrichl Book Reviews > Philosophyl October 04, 2010 lViews: 149

Discuss this Article

comments powered by Disqus