Author Box
Articles Categories
All Categories
Articles Resources

Book Review - The New Earth By Eckhart Tolle

October 04, 2010 | Comments: 0 | Views: 149

'The New Earth' is Eckhart Tolle's second book, which also became a bestseller. Even though it takes time to digest and understand Tolle's language his book has stirred up a lot of insight and awareness in me. It has been showcased in Oprah's book club, which was followed by a 10 weeks online seminar in 2008. Find out if this book is worth adding to your 'want to read' pile.


Eckhart Tolle's second book is a follow-up to this first book 'The Power of Now'. Whereas his first book was in the format of questions and answers, this book is more like a long essay. Tolle's book follows the intent to create an awaking and a shift in people's consciousness and not to add to any one's beliefs.

The New Earth was published in 2005, has reached the New York bestseller lists in 2008 and has sold over five million copies in English.

More in details

'The New Earth' touches on various topics, starting with an analogy for transformation in human consciousness that Tolle sees is about to occur and has already begun in the world: the flowering of human consciousness (chapter one). He refers to earliest spiritual messengers like Buddha, Jesus and Laozi and that their message was not fully understood in their time.

Tolle goes into more depth about the term 'ego', which he started elaborating on in 'The Power of Now'. His definition of the term 'ego' is 'an illusory sense of self based on one's memories and thoughts'. Chapter two to four go into more details about the way we have identified with our thoughts and emotions (=ego). He also elaborates more on how we have become obsessed with and attached to things which, in his words, creates an ego that we didn't normally have.

In the following chapters, five and six, he describes the human tendency to carry around a collection of old emotional pain, which he calls the 'pain body'.

I really enjoyed the chapters towards the end (seven to ten), where he explains the difference between objects of consciousness and the space of consciousness, between outer and inner space and outer and inner purpose. In regards to consciousness he enlightened me through his insights of the three stages of inner consciousness: acceptance, enjoyment and enthusiasm, which stands very much in alignment with my view of self-development.

About the author

Eckhart Tolle was born in 1948 in Germany. He is a writer, public speaker and spiritual teacher and has written two bestsellers: The Power of Now and The New Earth. Nowadays he lives in Vancouver in Canada.


This book is for you if you have enjoyed the previous book (The Power of Now) and feel ready for some more confusing language, which will enter into your sub conscious mind and transform your awareness in a way that you cannot conceive with the conscious, rational mind.

Remember that you need to give yourself time to read this book. This will not be one to be read in a few days.

Want to know more? Have a look at my blog.

Nathalie Himmelrich is the founder of 'Reach for the Sky Therapy' on Sydney's Northern Beaches and specialises in 'relationship related issues'. She is working with individuals and couples using techniques ranging from Counselling, Neuro Linguistic Programming to Journey Therapy. She supports clients in their personal growth in a supportive and professional environment.

Visit my website: or visit my blog: and sign up for our newsletter today.

Source: EzineArticles
Was this Helpful ?

Rate this Article

Article Tags:

Book Review


Eckhart Tolle


Human Consciousness


Power Of Now


The New Earth







Finding and collecting vintage comic books for fun and profit is something that is interesting, but can be difficult. With so many places to look, narrowing down the options can be painstaking, until

By: Jorge Orduna l Book Reviews > Comics Humor l July 07, 2012 lViews: 285

Action packed story that reads like you are there in person. Lieutenant Commander Andrew Carlson was a U.S. Navy Seal. He was as rough and tough as they come. He was part of a mission to be inserted

By: Cy Hilterman l Book Reviews > Mysteries Thrillers l July 06, 2012 lViews: 278

"Look Me In The Eye, If You Dare!" Okay, all of You "Internet Millionaire Moguls," I want some answers, and I want them now.

By: Travis L Perkins l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 309

Crush it is a great "How to" book on using social media and being real with yourself on what you do. Gary is very passionate about what he does. The key to his success is blending who he is with what

By: Joe Mosed l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 546

My resolution this year was to knuckle down and do something to bring in some new clients for my practice, so I was pleased to see that Internet Marketing Bible for Accountants looked like it might

By: Karen K Jefferson l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 295

When promoting your business online, are you using internet marketing? If you have yet to spread your branches into the online world, you ought to consider doing so.

By: Joyce McNeill Christopher l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 281

Sophie's World is a beautifully written tale (within a tale (within a tale)) that will take you to an inspirational journey through the history of philosophy. Dyed in the colors of mystery with a

By: Ameera Kamall Book Reviews > Philosophyl April 25, 2012 lViews: 267

Since the dawn of time history has been our story. A story with both fiction & non-fiction current events, and has written about the historical culture I admire so much...

By: Carmello C Antoinel Book Reviews > Philosophyl April 08, 2012 lViews: 186

"Re-Birth" is a fascinating subject which attracts the attention of scientists,Philosophers,Poets,fiction writers and also common men across the entire world. Thousands of stories have been written

By: Bhimarao Sathyanarayananl Book Reviews > Philosophyl March 23, 2012 lViews: 239

What is Intelligence? This is a question haunting the minds of researchers and Psychologists for centuries together. Existing definition of Psychologists defines Intelligence as supremacy in the

By: Bhimarao Sathyanarayananl Book Reviews > Philosophyl February 25, 2012 lViews: 208

The Handbook of The Navigator by Eric J. Pepin was written for those of us who seek the greater truths that lie hidden beneath the limited perspective of our society.

By: Vincent A. D'Erricol Book Reviews > Philosophyl February 05, 2012 lViews: 208

Lawyer and author Earle Josiah presents his thought-provoking and cogent philosophical theory on the power and freedom of the human spirit in his latest gem of a book, The Power and Freedom of the

By: Douglas Cobbl Book Reviews > Philosophyl November 21, 2011 lViews: 214

Anger is part of the grief cycle consisting of five stages as per Elisabeth Kubler-Ross. The other stages are denial, bargaining, depression and acceptance. It is important to note that experiencing

By: Nathalie Himmelrichl Self Improvement > Grief Lossl June 09, 2012 lViews: 185

The Alchemist is another one of my absolute favourite books in my bookshelf. Paulo Coelho's book is a metaphor that takes you on journey and you will be surprise how many different gifts people take

By: Nathalie Himmelrichl Book Reviews > Inspirational Fictionl March 14, 2012 lViews: 270

Dr. John Gottman says: 'If there is one lesson I have learned from my years of research it is that a lasting marriage results from a couple's ability to resolve the conflicts that are inevitable in

By: Nathalie Himmelrichl Book Reviews > Psychologyl February 07, 2011 lViews: 171

When I first looked at the book cover I thought 'Oh wow, this looks a bit too sweet for me' but I still bought it as it came recommended by one of my clients as a good and interesting read. This is

By: Nathalie Himmelrichl Book Reviews > Psychologyl February 07, 2011 lViews: 155

Have you always wondered why you get bored easily, never stick to anything for long periods of time, quickly lose interest in things or change your mind about what you want to do and end up doing

By: Nathalie Himmelrichl Book Reviews > Psychologyl January 26, 2011 lViews: 159

The Power of Now is one of my absolute favorite books in my bookshelf. Eckhart Tolle takes us on a journey to explore ourselves, our focus in life and widens our understanding of present moment

By: Nathalie Himmelrichl Book Reviews > Philosophyl October 04, 2010 lViews: 150

Discuss this Article

comments powered by Disqus