Author Box
Articles Categories
All Categories
Articles Resources

Black Swans and the Problem of Induction

October 29, 2010 | Comments: 0 | Views: 170

Nassim Nicholas Taleb is the author of the best-selling book The Black Swan. The book is concerned with randomness and uncertainty, and our chronic inability to accurately fathom and measure these phenomena. According to Taleb, a Black Swan event is one that is unpredictable yet has wide-spread ramifications. Not only are these events difficult to predict, but Taleb also argues that we human beings have certain psychological limitations and biases that prevent us from foreseeing these events, while also thinking that the events were perfectly predictable after they occur.

The name for Taleb's theory comes from history. Prior to 1697, a black swan had never been observed by anyone in Western civilization. Many people therefore believed that all swans were white. However, a black swan was finally observed in western Australia in 1697, and the fallacy that they didn't exist was proven wrong.

This idea illustrates the problem of induction, one of Taleb's primary arguments. Just because every swan observed in the west until 1697 was white does not allow you to conclude that every swan is white, or that other types of swans don't exist. However, this is a mistake that many people make.

Taleb also illustrates the problem of induction with the parable of the Thanksgiving turkey. Imagine that a turkey is born on a farm. Every day, it is fed regularly and has a shelter to sleep in. For 1,000 days, the turkey has a very happy and perfectly content existence. The turkey wakes up on the 1,001st day and expects more of the same. However, that day is Thanksgiving and the turkey finds himself on the chopping block. The turkey used inductive reasoning to conclude that because every day so far had been happy, the next day must be happy as well, and his conclusion was obviously false. Thanksgiving day is a Black Swan event for the turkey because he couldn't have predicted his fate, but it is a white swan event for the farmer. After all, he's the one doing the chopping.

As these examples illustrate, conclusions drawn from inductive reasoning are susceptible to falsification, where one instance can nullify a wide-ranging conclusion drawn from insufficient data.

The Black Swan by Nassim Taleb is one of the most influential books of our time. Find out about this amazing, thought-provoking book at

Source: EzineArticles
Was this Helpful ?

Rate this Article

Article Tags:



















Black Swans


Nassim Taleb

Finding and collecting vintage comic books for fun and profit is something that is interesting, but can be difficult. With so many places to look, narrowing down the options can be painstaking, until

By: Jorge Orduna l Book Reviews > Comics Humor l July 07, 2012 lViews: 286

Action packed story that reads like you are there in person. Lieutenant Commander Andrew Carlson was a U.S. Navy Seal. He was as rough and tough as they come. He was part of a mission to be inserted

By: Cy Hilterman l Book Reviews > Mysteries Thrillers l July 06, 2012 lViews: 278

"Look Me In The Eye, If You Dare!" Okay, all of You "Internet Millionaire Moguls," I want some answers, and I want them now.

By: Travis L Perkins l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 309

Crush it is a great "How to" book on using social media and being real with yourself on what you do. Gary is very passionate about what he does. The key to his success is blending who he is with what

By: Joe Mosed l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 547

My resolution this year was to knuckle down and do something to bring in some new clients for my practice, so I was pleased to see that Internet Marketing Bible for Accountants looked like it might

By: Karen K Jefferson l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 295

When promoting your business online, are you using internet marketing? If you have yet to spread your branches into the online world, you ought to consider doing so.

By: Joyce McNeill Christopher l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 281

Sophie's World is a beautifully written tale (within a tale (within a tale)) that will take you to an inspirational journey through the history of philosophy. Dyed in the colors of mystery with a

By: Ameera Kamall Book Reviews > Philosophyl April 25, 2012 lViews: 267

Since the dawn of time history has been our story. A story with both fiction & non-fiction current events, and has written about the historical culture I admire so much...

By: Carmello C Antoinel Book Reviews > Philosophyl April 08, 2012 lViews: 186

"Re-Birth" is a fascinating subject which attracts the attention of scientists,Philosophers,Poets,fiction writers and also common men across the entire world. Thousands of stories have been written

By: Bhimarao Sathyanarayananl Book Reviews > Philosophyl March 23, 2012 lViews: 239

What is Intelligence? This is a question haunting the minds of researchers and Psychologists for centuries together. Existing definition of Psychologists defines Intelligence as supremacy in the

By: Bhimarao Sathyanarayananl Book Reviews > Philosophyl February 25, 2012 lViews: 208

The Handbook of The Navigator by Eric J. Pepin was written for those of us who seek the greater truths that lie hidden beneath the limited perspective of our society.

By: Vincent A. D'Erricol Book Reviews > Philosophyl February 05, 2012 lViews: 208

Lawyer and author Earle Josiah presents his thought-provoking and cogent philosophical theory on the power and freedom of the human spirit in his latest gem of a book, The Power and Freedom of the

By: Douglas Cobbl Book Reviews > Philosophyl November 21, 2011 lViews: 214

Nassim Nicholas Taleb, the author of the best-selling books The Black Swan and Fooled by Randomness, has a new book coming out on November 30th, 2010. The name of his new book is The Bed of

By: Scott H Thompsonl Book Reviews > Philosophyl November 12, 2010 lViews: 211

Nassim Nicholas Taleb is the author of The Black Swan, one of the most influential books of the past 50 years. The book is concerned with randomness and uncertainty, and our chronic inability to

By: Scott H Thompsonl Book Reviews > Philosophyl November 03, 2010 lViews: 253