Author Box
Articles Categories
All Categories
Articles Resources

A Magnificent Monkey From Indonesia

October 09, 2010 | Comments: 0 | Views: 131

"Nalikane Alengka diobong," (Once upon the time, Alengka was burned). This song is very popular in Java, especially in the sub-urban area. Hanuman is a figure from Ramayana epic. He was Rama's ambassador. He must take back Sinta who was kidnapped by Rahwana. His appearance is almost similar like Sun Go Kong.

Hanuman's mother is Anjana, a beautiful goddess from heaven. The father is wind god, named Bayu. Therefore, in the east he was called Bayu's son. When he was still a baby, Hanuman has ever swollen the sun. For, its shape is like his favorite candy. Adult Hanuman is very powerful. He is able to fly crossing the ocean to save his Master's wife. Alone this mighty monkey burned Alengka.

At page 26-27 Anand mentions a unique diagram. Showing 4 ways in finding the center in ourselves. First is Kama or strong will. Second is Artha, not only related with wealth but also with human's life value. Third is Dharma or Rightfulness. Last but not least is Moksha or ultimate freedom.

Unfortunately, people tend to combine Kama with Artha, which are in a line. Therefore, we only have a strong will to collect money. Similar with the combination of Dharma and Moksha, we do something good only to get reward and to avoid punishment. What is our different with a donkey who just want to eat carrot and avoid stick?

The ideal meeting is in diagonal line. Meaning that we have Kama or strong will to gain Moksha or ultimate freedom, not after the death but during our life right here right now. Then, we collect wealth to be shared with the oppressed people. It's our Dharma. In tune with John Lennon's imagination, "Imagine all the people, sharing all the world..."

Hanuman is more than a monkey. Reading the Hanuman Factor will color our life with the same spirit.

The Hanuman Factor by Anand Krishna, reviewed by Nugroho Angkasa

First Published by Gramedia Pustaka Utama Indonesia (January 2010)

Number of Pages: 206

Source: EzineArticles
Was this Helpful ?

Rate this Article

Article Tags:

Magnificent Monkey


Hanuman Factor


Monkey Burned Alengka


Ultimate Freedom

Finding and collecting vintage comic books for fun and profit is something that is interesting, but can be difficult. With so many places to look, narrowing down the options can be painstaking, until

By: Jorge Orduna l Book Reviews > Comics Humor l July 07, 2012 lViews: 286

Action packed story that reads like you are there in person. Lieutenant Commander Andrew Carlson was a U.S. Navy Seal. He was as rough and tough as they come. He was part of a mission to be inserted

By: Cy Hilterman l Book Reviews > Mysteries Thrillers l July 06, 2012 lViews: 278

"Look Me In The Eye, If You Dare!" Okay, all of You "Internet Millionaire Moguls," I want some answers, and I want them now.

By: Travis L Perkins l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 310

Crush it is a great "How to" book on using social media and being real with yourself on what you do. Gary is very passionate about what he does. The key to his success is blending who he is with what

By: Joe Mosed l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 547

My resolution this year was to knuckle down and do something to bring in some new clients for my practice, so I was pleased to see that Internet Marketing Bible for Accountants looked like it might

By: Karen K Jefferson l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 296

When promoting your business online, are you using internet marketing? If you have yet to spread your branches into the online world, you ought to consider doing so.

By: Joyce McNeill Christopher l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 282

Sophie's World is a beautifully written tale (within a tale (within a tale)) that will take you to an inspirational journey through the history of philosophy. Dyed in the colors of mystery with a

By: Ameera Kamall Book Reviews > Philosophyl April 25, 2012 lViews: 267

Since the dawn of time history has been our story. A story with both fiction & non-fiction current events, and has written about the historical culture I admire so much...

By: Carmello C Antoinel Book Reviews > Philosophyl April 08, 2012 lViews: 186

"Re-Birth" is a fascinating subject which attracts the attention of scientists,Philosophers,Poets,fiction writers and also common men across the entire world. Thousands of stories have been written

By: Bhimarao Sathyanarayananl Book Reviews > Philosophyl March 23, 2012 lViews: 239

What is Intelligence? This is a question haunting the minds of researchers and Psychologists for centuries together. Existing definition of Psychologists defines Intelligence as supremacy in the

By: Bhimarao Sathyanarayananl Book Reviews > Philosophyl February 25, 2012 lViews: 208

The Handbook of The Navigator by Eric J. Pepin was written for those of us who seek the greater truths that lie hidden beneath the limited perspective of our society.

By: Vincent A. D'Erricol Book Reviews > Philosophyl February 05, 2012 lViews: 208

Lawyer and author Earle Josiah presents his thought-provoking and cogent philosophical theory on the power and freedom of the human spirit in his latest gem of a book, The Power and Freedom of the

By: Douglas Cobbl Book Reviews > Philosophyl November 21, 2011 lViews: 214

Mrs Shambana said that peace is the celebration of plurality. This insightful definition of peace was stated by this member of the Indian Parliament at the global forum "The Power of Peace through

By: Nugroho Angkasal Book Reviews > Multiculturall October 06, 2010 lViews: 172

Discuss this Article

comments powered by Disqus