Author Box
Articles Categories
All Categories
Articles Resources

"The Google Story" by David A Vise and Mark Malseed - Book Review

May 28, 2009 | Comments: 0 | Views: 83

About the book

The Google story describes, as expected the Googles 10 year history. How did Google become a verb? How did Google become the most important and influential company on the Internet? How did two Stanford students create one of the world's most recognizable brands in just a few short years?

This book profiles both the company and its founders Larry Page and Sergey Brin The book is filled with inside glimpses into the history of Google and the challenges is faced on its way to success, It gives an insight to its unique corporate atmosphere and vision. It is a great book for anyone who wants to understand just how this unconventional company has become so successful in such a short time.

About the authors

David A. Vise is a senior advisor to New Mountain Capital, a leading New York-based private equity firm, and to New Mountain Vantage, the firm's public equity fund..

Mark Malseed is an investigative journalist and information industry consultant. Following the release of The Google Story, his first book he shares his investigative insights with businesses, organizations and schools in "Google Sleuthing" seminars.

What to learn from this book?

If you are interested in the history of the Internet the story of Google is a must read.

It is fun to read. One of the things I learned from reading this book is that Pagerank is not just about the ranking of your webpage but the algorithm that is given the name by its developer Larry Page. It learns you about the companies mantra: "Don't be evil".

The book can also be used as an inspiration if you are setting up your own business and how you can become successful too.

of this article

Astrid Idema is an Internet Marketer with over 10 years of online experience working for international companies like eBay and Brother. She is passionate about online opportunities and balancing your life. Astrid is also a mentor and coach for others entering the online marketing world. Learn more about Astrid [] and her team

Source: EzineArticles
Was this Helpful ?

Rate this Article

Article Tags:





Internet Business


Silicon Valley




Success Story


History Larry Page

Finding and collecting vintage comic books for fun and profit is something that is interesting, but can be difficult. With so many places to look, narrowing down the options can be painstaking, until

By: Jorge Orduna l Book Reviews > Comics Humor l July 07, 2012 lViews: 286

Action packed story that reads like you are there in person. Lieutenant Commander Andrew Carlson was a U.S. Navy Seal. He was as rough and tough as they come. He was part of a mission to be inserted

By: Cy Hilterman l Book Reviews > Mysteries Thrillers l July 06, 2012 lViews: 278

"Look Me In The Eye, If You Dare!" Okay, all of You "Internet Millionaire Moguls," I want some answers, and I want them now.

By: Travis L Perkins l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 311

Crush it is a great "How to" book on using social media and being real with yourself on what you do. Gary is very passionate about what he does. The key to his success is blending who he is with what

By: Joe Mosed l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 547

My resolution this year was to knuckle down and do something to bring in some new clients for my practice, so I was pleased to see that Internet Marketing Bible for Accountants looked like it might

By: Karen K Jefferson l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 297

When promoting your business online, are you using internet marketing? If you have yet to spread your branches into the online world, you ought to consider doing so.

By: Joyce McNeill Christopher l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 282

Books are considered the best friend of humans. Books can provide you the deep information about anything. Books are playing very vital role in the development of personality of any person.

By: Mark Handyl Book Reviews > Internetl January 13, 2011 lViews: 145

I am committed to be happily married with the woman of my dreams to create a lifelong marriage and family that will last forever. I am visualizing that my wife and I will be defining America The

By: Jose Manaizal Book Reviews > Internetl December 07, 2010 lViews: 176

What Internet books should you read? Well, if you want to really get a sense of it, I'd recommend that you start at the beginning first, and learn about ARPA-NET and Bell Labs, but then I'd recommend

By: Lance Winslowl Book Reviews > Internetl November 09, 2010 lViews: 166

I'm one of those freakish few who prefers to read the book before the movie comes out. I feel that I miss something important if I see the movie first. So despite seeing a few of the preview shorts

By: Lauren B Botneyl Book Reviews > Internetl October 02, 2010 lViews: 159

Friedman visualizes three phases of globalization while we are witnessing the third phase. There are several implications of the world that became flat in the 21st century. For the first time ever in

By: Ajit Kumar Jhal Book Reviews > Internetl September 24, 2010 lViews: 135

If you want to learn about blogging, "Create Your Own Blog: 6 Easy Projects to Start Blogging Like a Pro" by Tris Hussey is a great resource. For the new blogger, it is fantastic. For the experienced

By: Alain Burresel Book Reviews > Internetl August 13, 2010 lViews: 137

Boohoo describes the story of the first Internet casualty. The late nineties were the height of the Internet bubble. It was the era of venture capitalists and Internet entrepreneurs. Next to the fact

By: Astrid Idemal Book Reviews > Internetl May 27, 2009 lViews: 145

The Perfect Store tells the story of eBay. If you yourself are setting up your own website it is really inspiring and full of ideas and possible pitfalls. Learn from this great example.

By: Astrid Idemal Book Reviews > Internetl May 11, 2009 lViews: 102

Discuss this Article

comments powered by Disqus