Author Box
Articles Categories
All Categories
Articles Resources

Number One Online Search Engine Has Changed American Society Forever - Book Review

December 05, 2009 | Comments: 0 | Views: 128

As we look at companies like Google, we are reminded by the incredible power of the Internet. Still, what do we learn from this to help our own individual companies grow? Why is it that Google does so well, and how can we use this information to increase our profits? If you've ever had that question, I have an incredible book that I believe you should read. The name of the book is;

"What Would Google Do?" By Jeff Jaruis, Collins press publishing, a division of Harper Press Inc., New York, New York, 2009, ISBN: 978-0-06-170971-5.

Wow, this book has an incredible amount of Google history, and if you were ever wondering how Google came from out of the blue, and passed all the other search engines such a Yahoo, this will explain it all. After you read this you will realize that they didn't come out of the blue it all and they were able to earn the Internet surfers respect by keeping it simple and giving them exactly what they wanted.

You will learn about their rocket ship of success, and some of the mistakes they made along the way too. This is a good book which explains search engine philosophy, and it takes us behind the minds of the currently largest and most well-known search engine in the world. The author then uses the Google model as a guide to explain to other companies, and even small businesses how they can create a user centric future concept to better their companies, and continually innovate.

There were many great quotes in the book, and they are also chapter titles, quotes that will make you think, and take a good hard look at your current company and business. For instance;

"The Worst Customer Is Your Best Friend"

In other words, customer complaints can help you better your service and products if you will listen.

"Do What You Do Best and Link to the Rest"

In other words, stick to your core business, and help other businesses get what they want, and watch both of you grow.

"If You Are Not Searchable, You Will Not Be Found"

In other words, in the new paradigm of the information age, you must have a strong online presence, or you don't exist in the minds of the consumers, customers, and clients. If they can't find you online, you aren't real. Indeed, I know many people who actually believe that and it is a common perception, and therefore, it is a reality in the marketplace. In any case this book was totally excellent, and I highly recommend it to.

Lance Winslow is a retired Founder of a Nationwide Franchise Chain, and now runs the Online Think Tank. Lance Winslow believes in watching the search engine wars.

Source: EzineArticles
Was this Helpful ?

Rate this Article

Article Tags:

Number One Online Search Engine


American Society


Book Review


Incredible Book


Companies Grow

Finding and collecting vintage comic books for fun and profit is something that is interesting, but can be difficult. With so many places to look, narrowing down the options can be painstaking, until

By: Jorge Orduna l Book Reviews > Comics Humor l July 07, 2012 lViews: 286

Action packed story that reads like you are there in person. Lieutenant Commander Andrew Carlson was a U.S. Navy Seal. He was as rough and tough as they come. He was part of a mission to be inserted

By: Cy Hilterman l Book Reviews > Mysteries Thrillers l July 06, 2012 lViews: 278

"Look Me In The Eye, If You Dare!" Okay, all of You "Internet Millionaire Moguls," I want some answers, and I want them now.

By: Travis L Perkins l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 311

Crush it is a great "How to" book on using social media and being real with yourself on what you do. Gary is very passionate about what he does. The key to his success is blending who he is with what

By: Joe Mosed l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 547

My resolution this year was to knuckle down and do something to bring in some new clients for my practice, so I was pleased to see that Internet Marketing Bible for Accountants looked like it might

By: Karen K Jefferson l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 296

When promoting your business online, are you using internet marketing? If you have yet to spread your branches into the online world, you ought to consider doing so.

By: Joyce McNeill Christopher l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 282

Books are considered the best friend of humans. Books can provide you the deep information about anything. Books are playing very vital role in the development of personality of any person.

By: Mark Handyl Book Reviews > Internetl January 13, 2011 lViews: 145

I am committed to be happily married with the woman of my dreams to create a lifelong marriage and family that will last forever. I am visualizing that my wife and I will be defining America The

By: Jose Manaizal Book Reviews > Internetl December 07, 2010 lViews: 176

What Internet books should you read? Well, if you want to really get a sense of it, I'd recommend that you start at the beginning first, and learn about ARPA-NET and Bell Labs, but then I'd recommend

By: Lance Winslowl Book Reviews > Internetl November 09, 2010 lViews: 165

I'm one of those freakish few who prefers to read the book before the movie comes out. I feel that I miss something important if I see the movie first. So despite seeing a few of the preview shorts

By: Lauren B Botneyl Book Reviews > Internetl October 02, 2010 lViews: 159

Friedman visualizes three phases of globalization while we are witnessing the third phase. There are several implications of the world that became flat in the 21st century. For the first time ever in

By: Ajit Kumar Jhal Book Reviews > Internetl September 24, 2010 lViews: 134

If you want to learn about blogging, "Create Your Own Blog: 6 Easy Projects to Start Blogging Like a Pro" by Tris Hussey is a great resource. For the new blogger, it is fantastic. For the experienced

By: Alain Burresel Book Reviews > Internetl August 13, 2010 lViews: 137

If you are going to write articles online, you are going to inadvertently increase your critical thinking skills. The reason is simple - because as you are preparing an article you are explaining to

By: Lance Winslowl Self Improvement > Mind Developmentl August 02, 2012 lViews: 302

Back when I was in high school and college I was a spectacular athlete, and I'm not afraid to say so now. At the time, it might not been inappropriate, as it would have shown an inflated ego, but I

By: Lance Winslowl Self Improvement > Mind Developmentl August 02, 2012 lViews: 496

Some say it takes brilliance to solve problems, and that may be so. The same folks will tell us that it takes a genius to not have the problem in the first place. Nevertheless, generally speaking

By: Lance Winslowl Business > Risk Managementl July 24, 2012 lViews: 239

Most people would agree that Mother Nature through evolution has done a wonderful job organizing things. There is a food chain, and cyclical events, and all the while all the species on the planet

By: Lance Winslowl Reference & Education > Naturel July 15, 2012 lViews: 218

A few months ago, I was at Starbucks talking to someone about stocks and bonds, he and his wife had worked hard and were worried about the stock market. They wanted something much less risky. He

By: Lance Winslowl Investing > Stocksl July 11, 2012 lViews: 434

Now then, have you ever wondered what's up with our known, sensed, and observed reality - have you ever considered that it all started with a simple plan, or a simple set of rules, much like particle

By: Lance Winslowl Reference & Education > Naturel July 08, 2012 lViews: 313

Discuss this Article

comments powered by Disqus