Author Box
Articles Categories
All Categories
Articles Resources

Internet Books of Silicon Valley's Hay Day - The Game Continues - What You Should Read Now

November 09, 2010 | Comments: 0 | Views: 164

What Internet books should you read? Well, if you want to really get a sense of it, I'd recommend that you start at the beginning first, and learn about ARPA-NET and Bell Labs, but then I'd recommend perhaps "The Web" by Tim Burners-Less or maybe something by Vincent Cerf. There are many other Internet books worthy of mention. "The Long Tail" by Chris Anderson is good.

Also, how about a few Internet books from the 90s? "Blown to Bits" was written prior to 1999 and it's pretty decent, but we know how that bubble turned out, and the IPO-Venture Capital rush of Silicon Valley, still it's pretty interesting, and this second wave of the Internet technology curve will be much more lasting. Google seems to be a company everyone is talking about and at the big box book stores you will find several new titles, this year in fact in the business innovation, and business computer shelves.

You see, the Internet is changing, and it's changing fast, and if you want to keep up, then you need to change with it also. For instance, I'd recommend that you know how it started, how it grew, how the bubble popped, and what happened next.

From there you can read what is going on right now, how things are changing as we speak and then go ahead and read what the top technology specialist believe is happening next - along with the Futurists who can't stop making predications even though they are seldom on target judging by hindsight decades later after everyone forgot what they said.

Why does all this matter, well because the internet is part of our everyday lives, it's infiltrated our families, companies, schools, and now with all the mobile technology, it will be with us 24/7/365 and most humans aren't going to know what to do without it in the future. You included, so stop denying it and start learning what it all means. Please consider all this.

Lance Winslow is a retired Founder of a Nationwide Franchise Chain, and now runs the Online Think Tank. Lance Winslow believes writing 21,600 articles was a lot of work - because all the letters on his keyboard are now worn off..

Source: EzineArticles
Was this Helpful ?

Rate this Article

Article Tags:

Internet Books Of Silicon Valley


Internet Technology


Few Internet Books


Internet Books


Think Tank

Finding and collecting vintage comic books for fun and profit is something that is interesting, but can be difficult. With so many places to look, narrowing down the options can be painstaking, until

By: Jorge Orduna l Book Reviews > Comics Humor l July 07, 2012 lViews: 286

Action packed story that reads like you are there in person. Lieutenant Commander Andrew Carlson was a U.S. Navy Seal. He was as rough and tough as they come. He was part of a mission to be inserted

By: Cy Hilterman l Book Reviews > Mysteries Thrillers l July 06, 2012 lViews: 278

"Look Me In The Eye, If You Dare!" Okay, all of You "Internet Millionaire Moguls," I want some answers, and I want them now.

By: Travis L Perkins l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 310

Crush it is a great "How to" book on using social media and being real with yourself on what you do. Gary is very passionate about what he does. The key to his success is blending who he is with what

By: Joe Mosed l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 547

My resolution this year was to knuckle down and do something to bring in some new clients for my practice, so I was pleased to see that Internet Marketing Bible for Accountants looked like it might

By: Karen K Jefferson l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 295

When promoting your business online, are you using internet marketing? If you have yet to spread your branches into the online world, you ought to consider doing so.

By: Joyce McNeill Christopher l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 281

Books are considered the best friend of humans. Books can provide you the deep information about anything. Books are playing very vital role in the development of personality of any person.

By: Mark Handyl Book Reviews > Internetl January 13, 2011 lViews: 144

I am committed to be happily married with the woman of my dreams to create a lifelong marriage and family that will last forever. I am visualizing that my wife and I will be defining America The

By: Jose Manaizal Book Reviews > Internetl December 07, 2010 lViews: 175

I'm one of those freakish few who prefers to read the book before the movie comes out. I feel that I miss something important if I see the movie first. So despite seeing a few of the preview shorts

By: Lauren B Botneyl Book Reviews > Internetl October 02, 2010 lViews: 159

Friedman visualizes three phases of globalization while we are witnessing the third phase. There are several implications of the world that became flat in the 21st century. For the first time ever in

By: Ajit Kumar Jhal Book Reviews > Internetl September 24, 2010 lViews: 134

If you want to learn about blogging, "Create Your Own Blog: 6 Easy Projects to Start Blogging Like a Pro" by Tris Hussey is a great resource. For the new blogger, it is fantastic. For the experienced

By: Alain Burresel Book Reviews > Internetl August 13, 2010 lViews: 136

Peter Morville is the president of a leading information architecture firm and the definitive authority on a concept he refers to as findability. In his 2005 book Ambient Findability, he explores

By: Andrew Walshl Book Reviews > Internetl July 29, 2010 lViews: 163

If you are going to write articles online, you are going to inadvertently increase your critical thinking skills. The reason is simple - because as you are preparing an article you are explaining to

By: Lance Winslowl Self Improvement > Mind Developmentl August 02, 2012 lViews: 302

Back when I was in high school and college I was a spectacular athlete, and I'm not afraid to say so now. At the time, it might not been inappropriate, as it would have shown an inflated ego, but I

By: Lance Winslowl Self Improvement > Mind Developmentl August 02, 2012 lViews: 496

Some say it takes brilliance to solve problems, and that may be so. The same folks will tell us that it takes a genius to not have the problem in the first place. Nevertheless, generally speaking

By: Lance Winslowl Business > Risk Managementl July 24, 2012 lViews: 239

Most people would agree that Mother Nature through evolution has done a wonderful job organizing things. There is a food chain, and cyclical events, and all the while all the species on the planet

By: Lance Winslowl Reference & Education > Naturel July 15, 2012 lViews: 218

A few months ago, I was at Starbucks talking to someone about stocks and bonds, he and his wife had worked hard and were worried about the stock market. They wanted something much less risky. He

By: Lance Winslowl Investing > Stocksl July 11, 2012 lViews: 433

Now then, have you ever wondered what's up with our known, sensed, and observed reality - have you ever considered that it all started with a simple plan, or a simple set of rules, much like particle

By: Lance Winslowl Reference & Education > Naturel July 08, 2012 lViews: 313

Discuss this Article

comments powered by Disqus