Author Box
Articles Categories
All Categories
Articles Resources

Create Your Own Blog - 6 Easy Projects to Start Blogging Like a Pro by Tris Hussey

August 13, 2010 | Comments: 0 | Views: 136

If you want to learn about blogging, "Create Your Own Blog: 6 Easy Projects to Start Blogging Like a Pro" by Tris Hussey is a great resource. For the new blogger, it is fantastic. For the experienced blogger, I bet you'll still learn a thing or two. But it really is aimed at the beginner and maybe intermediate blogger.

The thing I really liked was Hussey provides a lot of detail and information. This book really helped me with the two websites/blogs I just created, and I'm going to use it as a reference if I decide to add some different things like video and audio to my blogs.

Hussey admits that he favors WordPress and the book has more about WordPress than other blogging platforms. With this said, he does mention some of the others such as Blogger or TypePad. Hussey says he's tried all the different blogging platforms and prefers and recommends WordPress, so most of the information refers to this platform for creating a blog, but many concepts and ideas will work if you choose another. This is another thing I like about the book, Hussey shares many resources, and many are free, to help you with what you want to do.

There is a quick introduction about how to use the book, and then a brief history of blogs and how to start your own. There is a basic chapter on installing and setting up your first blog. This is very basic and walks the novice through the setup. Don't know what a plugin or widget is? This chapter will tell you.

Chapter three focuses on writing and creating a conversation, while chapter four is on building community. Chapter five is the first of the 6 projects. The six are: Creating a personal blog; Creating a business blog; Creating a podcast blog; Video blogging; Creating a portfolio blog; Creating your online lifestream; and a bonus chapter on Making money through your blog.

In these chapters, Hussey really does walk you through doing all the things you'll want to do with your blog. He covers the basics, but also how to record, edit and post audio and video, as well as topics like twitter, Cliqset, and ways to pull all your posting and content together. I was pleasantly surprised at the amount of information and detail provided. The last chapter, which was a bonus, probably had the least amount of information, but he did cover the basic ways people are making money with their blogs.

I would strongly recommend this book to anyone who wants to start blogging, or for the person who wants to improve their blog presence or take their blogging to the next level with audio or video. Great blogging reference.

Alain Burrese, J.D. is a performance and personal development expert who teaches how to live, take action, and get things done through the Warrior's Edge. Alain combines his military, martial art, and Asian experiences with his business, law, and conflict resolution education into a powerful way of living with balance, honor, and integrity. He teaches how to use the Warrior's Edge to Take Action and Achieve Remarkable Results. Alain is the author of Hard-Won Wisdom From The School Of Hard Knocks, the DVDs Hapkido Hoshinsul, Streetfighting Essentials, Hapkido Cane, the Lock On Joint Locking series, and numerous articles and reviews. You can read more articles and reviews and see clips of his DVDs as well as much more at and

Source: EzineArticles
Was this Helpful ?

Rate this Article

Article Tags:

Start Blogging


Tris Hussey


Blogging Platforms


Personal Blog


Podcast Blog


Video Blogging



Finding and collecting vintage comic books for fun and profit is something that is interesting, but can be difficult. With so many places to look, narrowing down the options can be painstaking, until

By: Jorge Orduna l Book Reviews > Comics Humor l July 07, 2012 lViews: 286

Action packed story that reads like you are there in person. Lieutenant Commander Andrew Carlson was a U.S. Navy Seal. He was as rough and tough as they come. He was part of a mission to be inserted

By: Cy Hilterman l Book Reviews > Mysteries Thrillers l July 06, 2012 lViews: 278

"Look Me In The Eye, If You Dare!" Okay, all of You "Internet Millionaire Moguls," I want some answers, and I want them now.

By: Travis L Perkins l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 310

Crush it is a great "How to" book on using social media and being real with yourself on what you do. Gary is very passionate about what he does. The key to his success is blending who he is with what

By: Joe Mosed l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 547

My resolution this year was to knuckle down and do something to bring in some new clients for my practice, so I was pleased to see that Internet Marketing Bible for Accountants looked like it might

By: Karen K Jefferson l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 296

When promoting your business online, are you using internet marketing? If you have yet to spread your branches into the online world, you ought to consider doing so.

By: Joyce McNeill Christopher l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 282

Books are considered the best friend of humans. Books can provide you the deep information about anything. Books are playing very vital role in the development of personality of any person.

By: Mark Handyl Book Reviews > Internetl January 13, 2011 lViews: 145

I am committed to be happily married with the woman of my dreams to create a lifelong marriage and family that will last forever. I am visualizing that my wife and I will be defining America The

By: Jose Manaizal Book Reviews > Internetl December 07, 2010 lViews: 175

What Internet books should you read? Well, if you want to really get a sense of it, I'd recommend that you start at the beginning first, and learn about ARPA-NET and Bell Labs, but then I'd recommend

By: Lance Winslowl Book Reviews > Internetl November 09, 2010 lViews: 165

I'm one of those freakish few who prefers to read the book before the movie comes out. I feel that I miss something important if I see the movie first. So despite seeing a few of the preview shorts

By: Lauren B Botneyl Book Reviews > Internetl October 02, 2010 lViews: 159

Friedman visualizes three phases of globalization while we are witnessing the third phase. There are several implications of the world that became flat in the 21st century. For the first time ever in

By: Ajit Kumar Jhal Book Reviews > Internetl September 24, 2010 lViews: 134

Peter Morville is the president of a leading information architecture firm and the definitive authority on a concept he refers to as findability. In his 2005 book Ambient Findability, he explores

By: Andrew Walshl Book Reviews > Internetl July 29, 2010 lViews: 164

"The (Honest) Truth About Dishonesty: How We Lie to Everyone - Especially Ourselves" by Dan Ariely is a fascinating look at cheating and dishonesty. Backed by research, Ariely provides explanations

By: Alain Burresel Book Reviews > Businessl May 31, 2012 lViews: 209

If you are a web analyst, or are seeking a job as one, you need to read "Web Analytics Action Hero: Using analysis to Gain Insight and Optimize Your Business" by Brent Dykes. In an interesting and

By: Alain Burresel Book Reviews > Businessl May 11, 2012 lViews: 178

"The $100 Startup: Reinvent The Way You Make A Living, Do What You Love, And Create A New Future" by Chris Guillebeau is an interesting and informative book for those who are or want to be

By: Alain Burresel Book Reviews > Businessl May 02, 2012 lViews: 184

"The Detachment" by Barry Eisler brings back assassin John Rain and the former Marine sniper, Dox, from Eisler's first six popular novels and pairs them with the covert operator and hero of Eisler's

By: Alain Burresel Book Reviews > Mysteries Thrillersl February 25, 2012 lViews: 199

"How I Swept My Way To The Top: The Don Aslett Story" by Don Aslett is one of the most enjoyable, educational, and motivational books I've read in a very, very long time. The book is an autobiography

By: Alain Burresel Book Reviews > Biographies Memoirsl February 25, 2012 lViews: 211

A fascinating and engaging look into organized retail crime. Very eye opening, and a book that does a good job of letting readers know just what a big problem this is.

By: Alain Burresel Book Reviews > Current Affairsl February 25, 2012 lViews: 210

Discuss this Article

comments powered by Disqus