Author Box
Articles Categories
All Categories
Articles Resources

"Boohoo - A Dot Com Story From Concept to Catastrophe" by Ernst Malmsten, E Portanger and C Drazin

May 27, 2009 | Comments: 0 | Views: 143

Boohoo describes the story of the first Internet casualty. The late nineties were the height of the Internet bubble. It was the era of venture capitalists and Internet entrepreneurs. Next to the fact that the book is a great read and gives insights to the craziness of that time the book is also an insightful read for any entrepreneur. It gives valuable lessons for starting up your own business.

About the book

At its peak boo was valued at 390 million. Boo had become a myth, a legend.

The story involves business people, the media, banks, individual investors, the Internet business and the entrepreneurs. The 130 million that was put into the company, two years of hard work, five overseas offices and 350 people of staff were not enough to make a success.

About Ernst Malmsten

Ernst Malmsten is the co-founder and CEO of He takes the reader behind the scenes of this start-up during the great Internet hype of the late 90's.

Malmsten wanted to tell the true story of what happened as honestly and true as possible.

What to learn from this book?

You can learn the pitfalls of becoming a hype. It shows that starting big can be a great risk. If you read this book together with "the perfect store" it gives you a good insight on how you can start your own business. I learned that starting small, let the business grow gradually and organically gives you the best opportunity to grow together with it.

If you want to start your own Internet business or just want to know more about the Internet business this book is a must read!

of this article

Astrid Idema is an Internet Marketer with over 10 years of online experience working for international companies like eBay and Brother. She is passionate about online opportunities and balancing your life. Astrid is also a mentor and coach for others entering the online marketing world. Learn more about Astrid [] and her team.

Source: EzineArticles
Was this Helpful ?

Rate this Article

Article Tags:





Internet Business


Silicon Valley




Internet Bubble





Finding and collecting vintage comic books for fun and profit is something that is interesting, but can be difficult. With so many places to look, narrowing down the options can be painstaking, until

By: Jorge Orduna l Book Reviews > Comics Humor l July 07, 2012 lViews: 286

Action packed story that reads like you are there in person. Lieutenant Commander Andrew Carlson was a U.S. Navy Seal. He was as rough and tough as they come. He was part of a mission to be inserted

By: Cy Hilterman l Book Reviews > Mysteries Thrillers l July 06, 2012 lViews: 278

"Look Me In The Eye, If You Dare!" Okay, all of You "Internet Millionaire Moguls," I want some answers, and I want them now.

By: Travis L Perkins l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 311

Crush it is a great "How to" book on using social media and being real with yourself on what you do. Gary is very passionate about what he does. The key to his success is blending who he is with what

By: Joe Mosed l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 547

My resolution this year was to knuckle down and do something to bring in some new clients for my practice, so I was pleased to see that Internet Marketing Bible for Accountants looked like it might

By: Karen K Jefferson l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 296

When promoting your business online, are you using internet marketing? If you have yet to spread your branches into the online world, you ought to consider doing so.

By: Joyce McNeill Christopher l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 282

Books are considered the best friend of humans. Books can provide you the deep information about anything. Books are playing very vital role in the development of personality of any person.

By: Mark Handyl Book Reviews > Internetl January 13, 2011 lViews: 145

I am committed to be happily married with the woman of my dreams to create a lifelong marriage and family that will last forever. I am visualizing that my wife and I will be defining America The

By: Jose Manaizal Book Reviews > Internetl December 07, 2010 lViews: 176

What Internet books should you read? Well, if you want to really get a sense of it, I'd recommend that you start at the beginning first, and learn about ARPA-NET and Bell Labs, but then I'd recommend

By: Lance Winslowl Book Reviews > Internetl November 09, 2010 lViews: 165

I'm one of those freakish few who prefers to read the book before the movie comes out. I feel that I miss something important if I see the movie first. So despite seeing a few of the preview shorts

By: Lauren B Botneyl Book Reviews > Internetl October 02, 2010 lViews: 159

Friedman visualizes three phases of globalization while we are witnessing the third phase. There are several implications of the world that became flat in the 21st century. For the first time ever in

By: Ajit Kumar Jhal Book Reviews > Internetl September 24, 2010 lViews: 134

If you want to learn about blogging, "Create Your Own Blog: 6 Easy Projects to Start Blogging Like a Pro" by Tris Hussey is a great resource. For the new blogger, it is fantastic. For the experienced

By: Alain Burresel Book Reviews > Internetl August 13, 2010 lViews: 137

The Google story describes, as expected, Google's 10 year history. How did Google become a verb? How did Google become the most important and influential company on the Internet? How did two Stanford

By: Astrid Idemal Book Reviews > Internetl May 28, 2009 lViews: 83

The Perfect Store tells the story of eBay. If you yourself are setting up your own website it is really inspiring and full of ideas and possible pitfalls. Learn from this great example.

By: Astrid Idemal Book Reviews > Internetl May 11, 2009 lViews: 102

Discuss this Article

comments powered by Disqus