Author Box
Articles Categories
All Categories
Articles Resources

Branding in the Internet Age - It's Much More Comprehensive Than You Think in the Virtual Realm

April 01, 2012 | Comments: 0 | Views: 160

You know, as a former Franchisor, I almost feel as if I could teach a class on branding. Still, in the Internet age it's a whole different ballgame, it's not like the "old world" at all. Business moves at the speed of thought, and now social networking algorithms are predicting those thoughts in advance. Do you ever wonder how all this came to be in just a couple of decades? If so, there's a great book I'd like to recommend to you;

"eBrands - Building an Internet Business at Breakneck Speed," by Phil Carpenter, Harvard Business School Press, Boston, MA (2000), 301 pages, ISBN: 0-87584-929-6.

The author of this book is the CEO of Critical Path, a company that indeed has some of the biggest names in Silicon Valley as clients, and some extremely successful start-ups names for bragging rights. Thus, what he does have to say in this book whether you go for every line or argument or not - regardless you should listen to the wisdom, soak in the ideas, and it will make you a better brander and marketer once you are done reading.

In many ways this book seems to be dual purpose, explaining strategies and successes, and highlighting some of his clients. There are case study chapters on iVillage, CD Now, Barnes and Noble (dot) com, Yahoo!, Fogdog Sports, and OnSale (dot) com. The conclusion of the book is quite telling - honest and up close and personal, you almost feel as if you were there in the heat of battle during the case studies, and the conclusion sums it all up with important take-aways.

Throughout the book he explains the competitive threats, importance of reputation, and the exponential growth of brands on the verge of chaos, but growing by leaps and bounds. I'd say this book and the book in its eBook form which is also available it perfect for PR professionals, online start-ups, small business people, branding consultants, venture capitalists, and anyone trying to guess which start-up with online sales is worthy of investing in.

The best part of this book for me, and yes, I do have somewhat unusual tastes, was the journey behind the scenes, really getting to know the decisions being made in real time by those nudging the brand's path, while attempting not to turn off the momentum as it grew. The comparisons were also great, especially coming from the various interviews of those in the know, and on the ground floor of that fast moving battlespace of online branding and marketing.

Would I recommend this book to you? Yes, I would and I also own a copy sitting on my book case in my personal business library along with my other top branding and online marketing books. It deserves a space on that select row. Please consider all this and think on it.

Lance Winslow has launched a new provocative eBook on Future Branding Concepts. Lance Winslow is a retired Founder of a Nationwide Franchise Chain, and now runs the Online Think Tank; http://www.worldthinktank.net

Source: EzineArticles
Was this Helpful ?

 
0
 
0
 
Rate this Article
 vote(s)
Feedback
Print
Re-Publish

Article Tags:

Branding In The Internet Age

,

Comprehensive

,

Virtual Realm

,

Ebooks

,

Ebooks

,

Ebranding

,

Carpenter

,

Winslow

Finding and collecting vintage comic books for fun and profit is something that is interesting, but can be difficult. With so many places to look, narrowing down the options can be painstaking, until

By: Jorge Orduna l Book Reviews > Comics Humor l July 07, 2012 lViews: 286

Action packed story that reads like you are there in person. Lieutenant Commander Andrew Carlson was a U.S. Navy Seal. He was as rough and tough as they come. He was part of a mission to be inserted

By: Cy Hilterman l Book Reviews > Mysteries Thrillers l July 06, 2012 lViews: 278

"Look Me In The Eye, If You Dare!" Okay, all of You "Internet Millionaire Moguls," I want some answers, and I want them now.

By: Travis L Perkins l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 310

Crush it is a great "How to" book on using social media and being real with yourself on what you do. Gary is very passionate about what he does. The key to his success is blending who he is with what

By: Joe Mosed l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 547

My resolution this year was to knuckle down and do something to bring in some new clients for my practice, so I was pleased to see that Internet Marketing Bible for Accountants looked like it might

By: Karen K Jefferson l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 295

When promoting your business online, are you using internet marketing? If you have yet to spread your branches into the online world, you ought to consider doing so.

By: Joyce McNeill Christopher l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 281

"Look Me In The Eye, If You Dare!" Okay, all of You "Internet Millionaire Moguls," I want some answers, and I want them now.

By: Travis L Perkinsl Book Reviews > Internet Marketingl June 29, 2012 lViews: 310

Crush it is a great "How to" book on using social media and being real with yourself on what you do. Gary is very passionate about what he does. The key to his success is blending who he is with what

By: Joe Mosedl Book Reviews > Internet Marketingl June 29, 2012 lViews: 547

My resolution this year was to knuckle down and do something to bring in some new clients for my practice, so I was pleased to see that Internet Marketing Bible for Accountants looked like it might

By: Karen K Jeffersonl Book Reviews > Internet Marketingl June 29, 2012 lViews: 295

When promoting your business online, are you using internet marketing? If you have yet to spread your branches into the online world, you ought to consider doing so.

By: Joyce McNeill Christopherl Book Reviews > Internet Marketingl June 29, 2012 lViews: 281

With all of the noise out there, it takes a real pro or a super story to be noticed, but how can you do it consistently is the question and it has taken an experienced blogger who also has a topnotch

By: Roberto Sedyciasl Book Reviews > Internet Marketingl June 25, 2012 lViews: 221

By now you've probably noticed that Google places has morphed into Google+. The platform now closely resembles the functionality of Facebook.

By: Jason M Murphyl Book Reviews > Internet Marketingl June 20, 2012 lViews: 183

If you are going to write articles online, you are going to inadvertently increase your critical thinking skills. The reason is simple - because as you are preparing an article you are explaining to

By: Lance Winslowl Self Improvement > Mind Developmentl August 02, 2012 lViews: 302

Back when I was in high school and college I was a spectacular athlete, and I'm not afraid to say so now. At the time, it might not been inappropriate, as it would have shown an inflated ego, but I

By: Lance Winslowl Self Improvement > Mind Developmentl August 02, 2012 lViews: 496

Some say it takes brilliance to solve problems, and that may be so. The same folks will tell us that it takes a genius to not have the problem in the first place. Nevertheless, generally speaking

By: Lance Winslowl Business > Risk Managementl July 24, 2012 lViews: 239

Most people would agree that Mother Nature through evolution has done a wonderful job organizing things. There is a food chain, and cyclical events, and all the while all the species on the planet

By: Lance Winslowl Reference & Education > Naturel July 15, 2012 lViews: 218

A few months ago, I was at Starbucks talking to someone about stocks and bonds, he and his wife had worked hard and were worried about the stock market. They wanted something much less risky. He

By: Lance Winslowl Investing > Stocksl July 11, 2012 lViews: 433

Now then, have you ever wondered what's up with our known, sensed, and observed reality - have you ever considered that it all started with a simple plan, or a simple set of rules, much like particle

By: Lance Winslowl Reference & Education > Naturel July 08, 2012 lViews: 313

Discuss this Article

comments powered by Disqus