Author Box
Articles Categories
All Categories
Articles Resources

4 Basic Google+ Tips for Small Business Owners

June 20, 2012 | Comments: 0 | Views: 183

By now you've probably noticed that Google places has morphed into Google+. The platform now closely resembles the functionality of Facebook. Early adopters where wavering as to whether Google+ would become relevant but it appears that critical mass has been reached and now big brands and small businesses of all kinds are leveraging it to connect with their audience. This post will share some fundamental steps to help you get your Google+ presence organized and optimized.

1. Create a Google Profile - if you have a Gmail account then this will be a snap. You simply head over to the Google+ page and start building out your profile. Their are several pre-set fields that will guide you through completing the profile. Be sure to be thorough as this information will show up in search engines. If you don't have a Gmail account, you can still create a profile and walk through the same process outlined above.

2. Optimize Your Profile - include copy and keywords that are relevant for your industry. Also, be sure to hyperlink the most important keywords in your profile copy back to the most relevant pages on your website; this is called link-building. These links will help Google identify the terms your website should rank for. Include links to as many social media profiles as possible and make sure to check all links to ensure they're working.

3. Make it Pretty - include photos in your profile that represent your brand or business. There is also a section specifically for adding photos, outside of just the standard profile photo. This is a great place to upload pictures of your business in action. Whether you're a restaurant, dentist or landscaper, this section will best used by showing pictures of the results you produce; examples might be pictures of food, equipment used, customers or your staff. There is also a section for uploading videos. This is a great way to stand out and build an interactive element into your profile. The video does not have to be fancy either; shoot one with a smart phone and upload it if you don't have a fancy recording device.

4. Connect - Google+ will recommend people for you to follow, that's a great start but you'll also want to connect to others. Take some time and find people that are in your area; these are the people that will most likely want to do business with you. Focus on not only connecting with them but also engaging them by either sharing or commenting on the posts they make. This part is ongoing and will be a regular exercise each time you use Google+.

Google+ can be a real advantage for your business. Allowing you to connect with new customer and increase your exposure in Google and other search engines. Don't be intimidated by having yet another social media platform to manage; embrace it and think of it as a potential revenue stream and communication channel to help you grow your business.

Jason Murphy is Co-founder of Gabster Media, a Cleveland website design digital & social media marketing agency.

Source: EzineArticles
Was this Helpful ?

 
0
 
0
 
Rate this Article
 vote(s)
Feedback
Print
Re-Publish

Article Tags:

Google Plus

,

Small Business Marketing

,

Social Media Marketing

Finding and collecting vintage comic books for fun and profit is something that is interesting, but can be difficult. With so many places to look, narrowing down the options can be painstaking, until

By: Jorge Orduna l Book Reviews > Comics Humor l July 07, 2012 lViews: 286

Action packed story that reads like you are there in person. Lieutenant Commander Andrew Carlson was a U.S. Navy Seal. He was as rough and tough as they come. He was part of a mission to be inserted

By: Cy Hilterman l Book Reviews > Mysteries Thrillers l July 06, 2012 lViews: 278

"Look Me In The Eye, If You Dare!" Okay, all of You "Internet Millionaire Moguls," I want some answers, and I want them now.

By: Travis L Perkins l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 310

Crush it is a great "How to" book on using social media and being real with yourself on what you do. Gary is very passionate about what he does. The key to his success is blending who he is with what

By: Joe Mosed l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 547

My resolution this year was to knuckle down and do something to bring in some new clients for my practice, so I was pleased to see that Internet Marketing Bible for Accountants looked like it might

By: Karen K Jefferson l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 296

When promoting your business online, are you using internet marketing? If you have yet to spread your branches into the online world, you ought to consider doing so.

By: Joyce McNeill Christopher l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 282

"Look Me In The Eye, If You Dare!" Okay, all of You "Internet Millionaire Moguls," I want some answers, and I want them now.

By: Travis L Perkinsl Book Reviews > Internet Marketingl June 29, 2012 lViews: 310

Crush it is a great "How to" book on using social media and being real with yourself on what you do. Gary is very passionate about what he does. The key to his success is blending who he is with what

By: Joe Mosedl Book Reviews > Internet Marketingl June 29, 2012 lViews: 547

My resolution this year was to knuckle down and do something to bring in some new clients for my practice, so I was pleased to see that Internet Marketing Bible for Accountants looked like it might

By: Karen K Jeffersonl Book Reviews > Internet Marketingl June 29, 2012 lViews: 296

When promoting your business online, are you using internet marketing? If you have yet to spread your branches into the online world, you ought to consider doing so.

By: Joyce McNeill Christopherl Book Reviews > Internet Marketingl June 29, 2012 lViews: 282

With all of the noise out there, it takes a real pro or a super story to be noticed, but how can you do it consistently is the question and it has taken an experienced blogger who also has a topnotch

By: Roberto Sedyciasl Book Reviews > Internet Marketingl June 25, 2012 lViews: 221

On a weekly basis we meet with dozens of small business owners; from the local deli to the automotive superstore, everyone is trying to leverage social media to boost their business. We've noticed

By: Jason M Murphyl Book Reviews > Internet Marketingl June 18, 2012 lViews: 179

On a weekly basis we meet with dozens of small business owners; from the local deli to the automotive superstore, everyone is trying to leverage social media to boost their business. We've noticed

By: Jason M Murphyl Book Reviews > Internet Marketingl June 18, 2012 lViews: 179

No, I'm not talking about dropping LSD (despite what Sterling Cooper from Mad Men would have you believe). I'm referring to getting outside of your normal routine and throwing your internal guide off

By: Jason M Murphyl Internet Businesses > Internet Marketingl May 05, 2012 lViews: 146

It's Summer and that means that people will start coming out of hibernation andĀ frolickingĀ more (at least in the Midwest anyway). From patio to picnic more people will be turning to their phone and

By: Jason M Murphyl Internet Businesses > Internet Marketingl May 04, 2012 lViews: 120

This post will provide some simple steps to help you outline what needs to be done when developing a digital marketing strategy. Sure, there is a heck of a lot more to go with this, but this should

By: Jason M Murphyl Internet Businesses > Internet Marketingl May 01, 2012 lViews: 95

The Vision To become a publisher, a content creator and the "CNN" of your business. The strategy should focus on positioning your business as a thought leader and a reliable content source.

By: Jason M Murphyl Internet Businesses > Internet Marketingl May 01, 2012 lViews: 99

By now, we've all heard of Groupon, LivingSocial, Google Offers and Yelp Local Deals. In fact, to date there are roughly 521 daily deal websites in the United States alone. We'll explain how to use

By: Jason M Murphyl Business > Negotiationl April 21, 2012 lViews: 199

Discuss this Article

comments powered by Disqus