Author Box
Articles Categories
All Categories
Articles Resources

Why Historians and Americans Are So Worried About Socialism - Read This Book!

June 26, 2010 | Comments: 0 | Views: 137

There is a lot to be said about the economics of socialism, and how the ramp up of converting a capitalist society into a socialist one can bring good times temporarily, as a socialist leader can seize a nation by becoming a populist and wreak havoc on a nation. We've seen this in recent periods in Argentina, Venezuela, Bolivia, and Ecuador. Many in the United States warn we are indeed, headed in the wrong direction with our current leadership, in fact I am one of those who don't like the direction we are headed.

But rather than me get into a long debate on the subject, why not do yourself a favor and read a little history on the topic. Here is a good book to read, I highly recommend it to you:

"Lords of Finance," by Liaquat Ahmed, Penguin Press, New York, NY, (2009), 536 pp, ISBN: 978-15942-01-820.

The book discusses the end of WWI and the demented inspiration of Hitler, and how the NAZIs came into power quickly from a very small group to one of the major parties in only a year and a half. Also discussed are the chaos of war, appeasement, gold Standard, Banks of England, and New York at the time and of course the Great Depression.

The Author suggests we are in the same place today, and he's got a great argument in that the charts sure look a lot the same. Another good book review on this very excellent book can be found online. It was in the New York Times, the title of the article is;

"A Monetary Horror Story that Looks Like Today's," by Janet Maslin on January 14, 2009.

Indeed, I recommend reading both, because I don't want to burst your next bubble, but socialism does not work, read for yourself. Please consider all this.

Lance Winslow is a retired Founder of a Nationwide Franchise Chain, and now runs the Online Think Tank. Lance Winslow believes it's hard to write 20,000 articles;

Note: All of Lance Winslow's articles are written by him, not by Automated Software, any Computer Program, or Artificially Intelligent Software. None of his articles are outsourced, PLR Content or written by ghost writers.

Source: EzineArticles
Was this Helpful ?

Rate this Article

Article Tags:

Book Review


Good Book Review


Economics Of Socialism


History Of Economics


Monetary Horror Story



Finding and collecting vintage comic books for fun and profit is something that is interesting, but can be difficult. With so many places to look, narrowing down the options can be painstaking, until

By: Jorge Orduna l Book Reviews > Comics Humor l July 07, 2012 lViews: 286

Action packed story that reads like you are there in person. Lieutenant Commander Andrew Carlson was a U.S. Navy Seal. He was as rough and tough as they come. He was part of a mission to be inserted

By: Cy Hilterman l Book Reviews > Mysteries Thrillers l July 06, 2012 lViews: 278

"Look Me In The Eye, If You Dare!" Okay, all of You "Internet Millionaire Moguls," I want some answers, and I want them now.

By: Travis L Perkins l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 309

Crush it is a great "How to" book on using social media and being real with yourself on what you do. Gary is very passionate about what he does. The key to his success is blending who he is with what

By: Joe Mosed l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 546

My resolution this year was to knuckle down and do something to bring in some new clients for my practice, so I was pleased to see that Internet Marketing Bible for Accountants looked like it might

By: Karen K Jefferson l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 295

When promoting your business online, are you using internet marketing? If you have yet to spread your branches into the online world, you ought to consider doing so.

By: Joyce McNeill Christopher l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 281

"These mothers are forced to employ all their time begging sustenance for their helpless children," writes the great English 18th century satirists Jonathan Swift in his short pamphlet "A modest

By: John Severinl Book Reviews > Economicsl October 14, 2010 lViews: 150

In Miles Away Worlds Apart, Alan Sakowitz does an excellent job in putting a face to the terrible and unbelievable financial exploits of Scott Rothstein, who was running a larger than life ponzi

By: Michelle D Castillol Book Reviews > Economicsl October 11, 2010 lViews: 169

If there is one problem plaguing a lot of people in Nigeria and beyond today, it is lack of money. This is occasioned by lack of knowledge of where and how to actually get it. Therefore, publication

By: Goke Ilesanmil Book Reviews > Economicsl October 01, 2010 lViews: 182

Understanding the chemistry that fuels stock market bubbles is a difficult and complex study that even risk aversion professionals have a hard time grasping. So I wondered, is there any chance that

By: Tom Copelandl Book Reviews > Economicsl September 27, 2010 lViews: 163

When the book Problems of Post-War Capitalism in the United States is talking about how important marketing is in American capitalism, I will agree with the fact that advertising is extremely

By: Pat McLoughlinl Book Reviews > Economicsl September 12, 2010 lViews: 192

This abstract contains the economic development in Singapore. This will begin from past, present and future of how this nation developed in Southeast Asia and how they become progressive in terms of

By: Steve Ongl Book Reviews > Economicsl August 23, 2010 lViews: 238

If you are going to write articles online, you are going to inadvertently increase your critical thinking skills. The reason is simple - because as you are preparing an article you are explaining to

By: Lance Winslowl Self Improvement > Mind Developmentl August 02, 2012 lViews: 302

Back when I was in high school and college I was a spectacular athlete, and I'm not afraid to say so now. At the time, it might not been inappropriate, as it would have shown an inflated ego, but I

By: Lance Winslowl Self Improvement > Mind Developmentl August 02, 2012 lViews: 496

Some say it takes brilliance to solve problems, and that may be so. The same folks will tell us that it takes a genius to not have the problem in the first place. Nevertheless, generally speaking

By: Lance Winslowl Business > Risk Managementl July 24, 2012 lViews: 239

Most people would agree that Mother Nature through evolution has done a wonderful job organizing things. There is a food chain, and cyclical events, and all the while all the species on the planet

By: Lance Winslowl Reference & Education > Naturel July 15, 2012 lViews: 218

A few months ago, I was at Starbucks talking to someone about stocks and bonds, he and his wife had worked hard and were worried about the stock market. They wanted something much less risky. He

By: Lance Winslowl Investing > Stocksl July 11, 2012 lViews: 433

Now then, have you ever wondered what's up with our known, sensed, and observed reality - have you ever considered that it all started with a simple plan, or a simple set of rules, much like particle

By: Lance Winslowl Reference & Education > Naturel July 08, 2012 lViews: 313

Discuss this Article

comments powered by Disqus