Author Box
Articles Categories
All Categories
Articles Resources

Learning More About Micro Economics Could Serve You Well - Book Review

November 26, 2009 | Comments: 0 | Views: 135

Well, it appears that many small towns and communities across America are now taking the bull by the horns, and working locally with economic development associations, city planners, and chambers of commerce. They want to get their economies cooking again, and they are tired of bitching and moaning, and complaining about the global economic fallout, the real estate prices, and all "For Lease signs" in the shopping centers of businesses which are no longer in business.

The city governments know they need the tax revenue, the small business people want regulations reduced, and people quite frankly want jobs. But before you go and join one of these organizations or start putting in your two cents, I believe you need to know a little bit about microeconomics. Now, you can probably go online, or go to the bookstore and pick up a book on the topic. However, if you really want to learn the fundamental principles of microeconomics, I recommend that you read some older textbooks so you have a good working base knowledge.

I realize of course that many people have not read an economics book since college or high school, but it's time that you pull out one of your old textbooks, or get online and go buy a microeconomics book to help you refresh your memory. Let me recommend a couple of such books that I have in my personal library which has helped me very much, not only with my own personal working knowledge, and my writing, but also my ability to explain microeconomics to others when I'm sitting in symposiums, conferences, or talking with other business leaders;

  1. "Microeconomics," by Edwin G. Dolan and David D. Lindsay, 1986
  2. "Micro Economic Theory," by Dominick Salvatore, 1974
Indeed, I recommend these two books, or books like them. Many of the new economics books are far too politically correct, and somewhat jaded in their viewpoint of capitalism. Capitalism and free market systems are quite simple and on the micro economic level you can watch things happen in real-time, as long as you understand what is going on, you can help increase sales, increase tax revenue, and get your city moving again. Please consider all this.

Lance Winslow is a retired Founder of a Nationwide Franchise Chain, and now runs the Online Think Tank. Lance Winslow believes in the US economy.

Source: EzineArticles
Was this Helpful ?

Rate this Article

Article Tags:

Learning More About Micro Economics


Book Review


Economic Development Associations



Finding and collecting vintage comic books for fun and profit is something that is interesting, but can be difficult. With so many places to look, narrowing down the options can be painstaking, until

By: Jorge Orduna l Book Reviews > Comics Humor l July 07, 2012 lViews: 286

Action packed story that reads like you are there in person. Lieutenant Commander Andrew Carlson was a U.S. Navy Seal. He was as rough and tough as they come. He was part of a mission to be inserted

By: Cy Hilterman l Book Reviews > Mysteries Thrillers l July 06, 2012 lViews: 278

"Look Me In The Eye, If You Dare!" Okay, all of You "Internet Millionaire Moguls," I want some answers, and I want them now.

By: Travis L Perkins l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 311

Crush it is a great "How to" book on using social media and being real with yourself on what you do. Gary is very passionate about what he does. The key to his success is blending who he is with what

By: Joe Mosed l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 547

My resolution this year was to knuckle down and do something to bring in some new clients for my practice, so I was pleased to see that Internet Marketing Bible for Accountants looked like it might

By: Karen K Jefferson l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 297

When promoting your business online, are you using internet marketing? If you have yet to spread your branches into the online world, you ought to consider doing so.

By: Joyce McNeill Christopher l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 282

"These mothers are forced to employ all their time begging sustenance for their helpless children," writes the great English 18th century satirists Jonathan Swift in his short pamphlet "A modest

By: John Severinl Book Reviews > Economicsl October 14, 2010 lViews: 150

In Miles Away Worlds Apart, Alan Sakowitz does an excellent job in putting a face to the terrible and unbelievable financial exploits of Scott Rothstein, who was running a larger than life ponzi

By: Michelle D Castillol Book Reviews > Economicsl October 11, 2010 lViews: 169

If there is one problem plaguing a lot of people in Nigeria and beyond today, it is lack of money. This is occasioned by lack of knowledge of where and how to actually get it. Therefore, publication

By: Goke Ilesanmil Book Reviews > Economicsl October 01, 2010 lViews: 182

Understanding the chemistry that fuels stock market bubbles is a difficult and complex study that even risk aversion professionals have a hard time grasping. So I wondered, is there any chance that

By: Tom Copelandl Book Reviews > Economicsl September 27, 2010 lViews: 164

When the book Problems of Post-War Capitalism in the United States is talking about how important marketing is in American capitalism, I will agree with the fact that advertising is extremely

By: Pat McLoughlinl Book Reviews > Economicsl September 12, 2010 lViews: 192

This abstract contains the economic development in Singapore. This will begin from past, present and future of how this nation developed in Southeast Asia and how they become progressive in terms of

By: Steve Ongl Book Reviews > Economicsl August 23, 2010 lViews: 239

If you are going to write articles online, you are going to inadvertently increase your critical thinking skills. The reason is simple - because as you are preparing an article you are explaining to

By: Lance Winslowl Self Improvement > Mind Developmentl August 02, 2012 lViews: 302

Back when I was in high school and college I was a spectacular athlete, and I'm not afraid to say so now. At the time, it might not been inappropriate, as it would have shown an inflated ego, but I

By: Lance Winslowl Self Improvement > Mind Developmentl August 02, 2012 lViews: 496

Some say it takes brilliance to solve problems, and that may be so. The same folks will tell us that it takes a genius to not have the problem in the first place. Nevertheless, generally speaking

By: Lance Winslowl Business > Risk Managementl July 24, 2012 lViews: 239

Most people would agree that Mother Nature through evolution has done a wonderful job organizing things. There is a food chain, and cyclical events, and all the while all the species on the planet

By: Lance Winslowl Reference & Education > Naturel July 15, 2012 lViews: 219

A few months ago, I was at Starbucks talking to someone about stocks and bonds, he and his wife had worked hard and were worried about the stock market. They wanted something much less risky. He

By: Lance Winslowl Investing > Stocksl July 11, 2012 lViews: 434

Now then, have you ever wondered what's up with our known, sensed, and observed reality - have you ever considered that it all started with a simple plan, or a simple set of rules, much like particle

By: Lance Winslowl Reference & Education > Naturel July 08, 2012 lViews: 313

Discuss this Article

comments powered by Disqus