Author Box
Articles Categories
All Categories
Articles Resources

Lead the Revolt and Win in Business - A Book Review

June 24, 2012 | Comments: 0 | Views: 173

Leadership by revolution might sound like a very unstable way to run an organization, agency, or business. Perhaps so, although then there is Steve Jobs, and the way he ran Apple. There are so many cases of businesses that truly shook up the corporation, and led as revolutionarions thus, outpacing the competition, leading the field, and running away with the market share. Of course, all this is easier said than done, but if you pay attention, and develop a strong plan of attack you can win in business using these methodologies. Okay so let's talk about this for second shall we?

You see, there's a very good book that I own that I would recommend you. This is a book on my business library shelf, and it is perfect for the entrepreneur, corporate executive, or middle manager that wants results, that wants to win. The name of the book is;

"Leading the Revolution," by Gary Humel, Plume Publishing, 2002, 352 pages, ISBN 978-0452283244.

The author postulates that incumbency in the market is worthless in the information age, it doesn't matter if you are the biggest, you can lose your lead in the market overnight, or in a very short time. Your company's future threats are most likely not your current competitors, so you have to out innovate the innovators, watch out for the revolutionaries, in fact, become one. The new comers win by changing the rules sales Humel, which is often true, also read Rule Makers and Rule Breakers by Motley Fools to fully get that concept.

Microsoft's Bill Gates was constantly worried that some garage start-up would come along and challenge the giant, in fact, I guess that might be Google in hindsight, but before that they battled all sort of upstart competitors, Netscape for instance.

The book also discusses such things as growth strategies, and compares the tactics of the past such as mergers, restructuring, and budget cuts, but the author suggests that's just not enough, sure that makes sense to run as efficient as possible, but the if you want to lead you must be a revolutionary - you should also read; "Rules For Revolutionaries: The Capitalist Manifesto for Creating and Marketing New Products and Services," by Guy Kawasaki.

Leading the Revolution by Gary Humel finishes the book with lots of ideas and advice for companies large and small, and even the combination, in fact, it might be possible for you to grow your company great, and use these strategies to win market share, brand loyalty and an abundance of customer referrals, easily outdistancing your competition. Indeed I hope you will please consider all this and think on it.

Lance Winslow has launched a new provocative series of eBooks on Change Management. Lance Winslow is a retired Founder of a Nationwide Franchise Chain, and now runs the Online Think Tank;

Source: EzineArticles
Was this Helpful ?

Rate this Article

Article Tags:

Book Review


Market Share


Good Book


Business Library


Gary Humel


Strong Plan


Think Tank



Finding and collecting vintage comic books for fun and profit is something that is interesting, but can be difficult. With so many places to look, narrowing down the options can be painstaking, until

By: Jorge Orduna l Book Reviews > Comics Humor l July 07, 2012 lViews: 286

Action packed story that reads like you are there in person. Lieutenant Commander Andrew Carlson was a U.S. Navy Seal. He was as rough and tough as they come. He was part of a mission to be inserted

By: Cy Hilterman l Book Reviews > Mysteries Thrillers l July 06, 2012 lViews: 278

"Look Me In The Eye, If You Dare!" Okay, all of You "Internet Millionaire Moguls," I want some answers, and I want them now.

By: Travis L Perkins l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 310

Crush it is a great "How to" book on using social media and being real with yourself on what you do. Gary is very passionate about what he does. The key to his success is blending who he is with what

By: Joe Mosed l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 547

My resolution this year was to knuckle down and do something to bring in some new clients for my practice, so I was pleased to see that Internet Marketing Bible for Accountants looked like it might

By: Karen K Jefferson l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 295

When promoting your business online, are you using internet marketing? If you have yet to spread your branches into the online world, you ought to consider doing so.

By: Joyce McNeill Christopher l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 281

The basics of economics are supply, demand and scarcity. Economics best describes how to divide these scarce resources up amongst a growing population. Paul Pilzer takes a very different approach to

By: Joe Mosedl Book Reviews > Businessl June 25, 2012 lViews: 230

I love to study success and failure. Learning from others and controlling your associations are probably the two biggest keys to accelerated success. J. Paul Getty was an oil man and understood that

By: Joe Mosedl Book Reviews > Businessl June 25, 2012 lViews: 256

Customer loyalty is the gold standard to any business. Loyal customers have a higher life time value, refer more business and become advocates. They will not shop or leave you on price and they will

By: Joe Mosedl Book Reviews > Businessl June 25, 2012 lViews: 276

Becoming an Entrepreneur is put in perspective. Self-proclaimed entrepreneurs are not entrepreneur's, they're wanna be's. Entreleadership helps give clarity needed to understand what your role should

By: Scott W Cliftonl Book Reviews > Businessl June 22, 2012 lViews: 202

When you think of failure - of your own failure with parenting an independent child - how does your psyche react (depressed orĀ embarrassed; dejected or sad)? Read on to see why you should get

By: Donna Marie Johnsonl Book Reviews > Businessl June 22, 2012 lViews: 166

I purchased Waiting for Your Cat to Bark by Bryan and Jeffrey Eisenberg. This particular read was recommended by a successful business associate, and I really liked the catchy title. I am generally a

By: Crystal J Casavantl Book Reviews > Businessl June 19, 2012 lViews: 175

If you are going to write articles online, you are going to inadvertently increase your critical thinking skills. The reason is simple - because as you are preparing an article you are explaining to

By: Lance Winslowl Self Improvement > Mind Developmentl August 02, 2012 lViews: 302

Back when I was in high school and college I was a spectacular athlete, and I'm not afraid to say so now. At the time, it might not been inappropriate, as it would have shown an inflated ego, but I

By: Lance Winslowl Self Improvement > Mind Developmentl August 02, 2012 lViews: 496

Some say it takes brilliance to solve problems, and that may be so. The same folks will tell us that it takes a genius to not have the problem in the first place. Nevertheless, generally speaking

By: Lance Winslowl Business > Risk Managementl July 24, 2012 lViews: 239

Most people would agree that Mother Nature through evolution has done a wonderful job organizing things. There is a food chain, and cyclical events, and all the while all the species on the planet

By: Lance Winslowl Reference & Education > Naturel July 15, 2012 lViews: 218

A few months ago, I was at Starbucks talking to someone about stocks and bonds, he and his wife had worked hard and were worried about the stock market. They wanted something much less risky. He

By: Lance Winslowl Investing > Stocksl July 11, 2012 lViews: 433

Now then, have you ever wondered what's up with our known, sensed, and observed reality - have you ever considered that it all started with a simple plan, or a simple set of rules, much like particle

By: Lance Winslowl Reference & Education > Naturel July 08, 2012 lViews: 313

Discuss this Article

comments powered by Disqus