Author Box
Articles Categories
All Categories
Articles Resources

The Selfish Gene - 30th Anniversary Edition

February 26, 2011 | Comments: 0 | Views: 151

Richard Dawkins gracefully talks about the role genetics play in evolution, genes and more in "The Selfish Gene".

In the first few chapters the Selfish Gene is well explained. The mechanism and nature of DNA are the small units that make up our genes that pass through generations of life. The gene is called the 'Selfish Gene' in the title because genes are the genetic unit that deal with their survival only, whilst promoting their own transmission at the cost of its enemies.

Genes are the 'survival machines' because they use our bodies to duplicate, not the other way round. This simple concept is quite revolutionary.

Breaking it all down Richard discusses the tasks of genes, in particular the role they play in parenthood, families, relationships between sexes, altruism, selfishness and many other tasks.

The author also writes about a new kind of replicator - Memes which copy ideas, music, fashion, philosophies in our world.

The last chapter of the selfish gene deals with the theory of the extended phenotype which again is an interesting topic. Biologists have been left baffled as this concept means that chemical reactions (triggered by genes) in a body can affect the chemical reactions (leading to the desired behaviour) in other bodies. In other words, the theory explains that the behavior of a parasite or insect can cause change in the behavior of other animals.

The Selfish Gene is a strikingly beautiful book on evolution from a geneticists point of view. It is thoughtful and insightful whilst being a manageable read, the topics discussed are on the cutting edge of science, excellent.

Click here for more info.

Do check out thanks.

Source: EzineArticles
Was this Helpful ?

Rate this Article

Article Tags:

The Selfish Gene 30th Anniversary Edition


The Selfish Gene 30th Anniversary Edition Book Review



Finding and collecting vintage comic books for fun and profit is something that is interesting, but can be difficult. With so many places to look, narrowing down the options can be painstaking, until

By: Jorge Orduna l Book Reviews > Comics Humor l July 07, 2012 lViews: 286

Action packed story that reads like you are there in person. Lieutenant Commander Andrew Carlson was a U.S. Navy Seal. He was as rough and tough as they come. He was part of a mission to be inserted

By: Cy Hilterman l Book Reviews > Mysteries Thrillers l July 06, 2012 lViews: 278

"Look Me In The Eye, If You Dare!" Okay, all of You "Internet Millionaire Moguls," I want some answers, and I want them now.

By: Travis L Perkins l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 310

Crush it is a great "How to" book on using social media and being real with yourself on what you do. Gary is very passionate about what he does. The key to his success is blending who he is with what

By: Joe Mosed l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 547

My resolution this year was to knuckle down and do something to bring in some new clients for my practice, so I was pleased to see that Internet Marketing Bible for Accountants looked like it might

By: Karen K Jefferson l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 296

When promoting your business online, are you using internet marketing? If you have yet to spread your branches into the online world, you ought to consider doing so.

By: Joyce McNeill Christopher l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 282

Cracking EAMCET is questions is tricky but easy than it is imagined. Once a student has thorough grip over the subject, then the question paper can be solved with much ease.

By: Javed Shaikl Book Reviews > Biologyl May 26, 2012 lViews: 251

In 1812, the 'Father of Paleontology', Baron Georges Cuvier, rashly pronounced that 'there is little hope of discovering a new species' of large animals and that naturalists should concentrate on

By: Simon A Hel Book Reviews > Biologyl April 02, 2012 lViews: 309

A Review of the Book - "First Life" Designed to accompany the two-part television series, "David Attenborough's First Life" covers the billions of years of time, leading up to the development of

By: Mike Walleyl Book Reviews > Biologyl January 09, 2012 lViews: 217

This review examines the book "A Field Guide to Warblers of North America", by Dunn and Garrett, part of the Peterson Field Guide series, commonly referred to as the "Peterson Warblers Guide". This

By: Alex Zorachl Book Reviews > Biologyl December 26, 2011 lViews: 191

The book Ornithology, by Frank B. Gill, is one of the most widely-used textbooks on the subject of ornithology. This critical book review gives an overview of my experience with this book, and what I

By: Alex Zorachl Book Reviews > Biologyl December 26, 2011 lViews: 223

This book review of Ecology: The Ascendent Perspective by Robert Ulanowicz highlights both my personal story of reading this book, including how it influenced me as a thinker, and a more professional

By: Alex Zorachl Book Reviews > Biologyl December 25, 2011 lViews: 191

Discuss this Article

comments powered by Disqus