Author Box
Articles Categories
All Categories
Articles Resources

The Human Mind is Incredible - A Book Review for You

December 12, 2010 | Comments: 0 | Views: 143

To master your mind, you are really going to need to understand the human brain - how it works, why it works, and how come it works so well. For this you are going to need to do quite a bit of research, because the human brain is rather complex, although its structure appears to be rather simplistic at first glance - but I assure you it's not at all, not in the least.

Okay so, I'd like to point you to a very good book to read on this topic, one I personally own, and have read myself. There is information on every page, and it is all well-footnoted. The name of the book is:

"The Universe Within - A New Science Explores the Human Mind" by Morton Hunt, Simon and Schuster, New York, NT, (1982), 415 pages, ISBN: 0-671-25258-5.

Although this sounds a lot like a new-age religious book, it really isn't - it's much more a science book, having to do with topics of neurology, brain structure, and how the human mind works - although indeed with a title like that it does sounds like it's a book for the new-age religion folks - it's not. And even though this was written back in 1982 without the modern understanding we have today of the human brain - the author reasoned his way through those unknown details for a very applicable summation, contemplating things we now know to be fact.

Indeed, he thus, deserves a lot of credit for that, I am impressed. The great thing about Morton Hunt is that he does not stick to a strict theory of either nature or nurture when it comes to the human mind, that is to say humans are not "pre-programmed" as he says that's an inaccurate statement. But at the same time, we are not exactly a product of our training, experience, and environment alone either. I do hope you will pick up a copy of this book, as you will be amazed how well-thought out his decades of research are. Please consider all this.

Lance Winslow is the Founder of the Online Think Tank, a diverse group of achievers, experts, innovators, entrepreneurs, thinkers, futurists, academics, dreamers, leaders, and general all around brilliant minds. Lance Winslow hopes you've enjoyed today's discussion and topic. - Have an important subject to discuss, contact Lance Winslow.

Source: EzineArticles
Was this Helpful ?

Rate this Article

Article Tags:

Human Mind Is Incredible


Book Review


Human Brain


Religious Book


Mind Works


Lance Winslow


Think Tank

Finding and collecting vintage comic books for fun and profit is something that is interesting, but can be difficult. With so many places to look, narrowing down the options can be painstaking, until

By: Jorge Orduna l Book Reviews > Comics Humor l July 07, 2012 lViews: 285

Action packed story that reads like you are there in person. Lieutenant Commander Andrew Carlson was a U.S. Navy Seal. He was as rough and tough as they come. He was part of a mission to be inserted

By: Cy Hilterman l Book Reviews > Mysteries Thrillers l July 06, 2012 lViews: 278

"Look Me In The Eye, If You Dare!" Okay, all of You "Internet Millionaire Moguls," I want some answers, and I want them now.

By: Travis L Perkins l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 309

Crush it is a great "How to" book on using social media and being real with yourself on what you do. Gary is very passionate about what he does. The key to his success is blending who he is with what

By: Joe Mosed l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 546

My resolution this year was to knuckle down and do something to bring in some new clients for my practice, so I was pleased to see that Internet Marketing Bible for Accountants looked like it might

By: Karen K Jefferson l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 295

When promoting your business online, are you using internet marketing? If you have yet to spread your branches into the online world, you ought to consider doing so.

By: Joyce McNeill Christopher l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 281

Cracking EAMCET is questions is tricky but easy than it is imagined. Once a student has thorough grip over the subject, then the question paper can be solved with much ease.

By: Javed Shaikl Book Reviews > Biologyl May 26, 2012 lViews: 250

In 1812, the 'Father of Paleontology', Baron Georges Cuvier, rashly pronounced that 'there is little hope of discovering a new species' of large animals and that naturalists should concentrate on

By: Simon A Hel Book Reviews > Biologyl April 02, 2012 lViews: 308

A Review of the Book - "First Life" Designed to accompany the two-part television series, "David Attenborough's First Life" covers the billions of years of time, leading up to the development of

By: Mike Walleyl Book Reviews > Biologyl January 09, 2012 lViews: 216

This review examines the book "A Field Guide to Warblers of North America", by Dunn and Garrett, part of the Peterson Field Guide series, commonly referred to as the "Peterson Warblers Guide". This

By: Alex Zorachl Book Reviews > Biologyl December 26, 2011 lViews: 190

The book Ornithology, by Frank B. Gill, is one of the most widely-used textbooks on the subject of ornithology. This critical book review gives an overview of my experience with this book, and what I

By: Alex Zorachl Book Reviews > Biologyl December 26, 2011 lViews: 222

This book review of Ecology: The Ascendent Perspective by Robert Ulanowicz highlights both my personal story of reading this book, including how it influenced me as a thinker, and a more professional

By: Alex Zorachl Book Reviews > Biologyl December 25, 2011 lViews: 190

If you are going to write articles online, you are going to inadvertently increase your critical thinking skills. The reason is simple - because as you are preparing an article you are explaining to

By: Lance Winslowl Self Improvement > Mind Developmentl August 02, 2012 lViews: 301

Back when I was in high school and college I was a spectacular athlete, and I'm not afraid to say so now. At the time, it might not been inappropriate, as it would have shown an inflated ego, but I

By: Lance Winslowl Self Improvement > Mind Developmentl August 02, 2012 lViews: 495

Some say it takes brilliance to solve problems, and that may be so. The same folks will tell us that it takes a genius to not have the problem in the first place. Nevertheless, generally speaking

By: Lance Winslowl Business > Risk Managementl July 24, 2012 lViews: 238

Most people would agree that Mother Nature through evolution has done a wonderful job organizing things. There is a food chain, and cyclical events, and all the while all the species on the planet

By: Lance Winslowl Reference & Education > Naturel July 15, 2012 lViews: 217

A few months ago, I was at Starbucks talking to someone about stocks and bonds, he and his wife had worked hard and were worried about the stock market. They wanted something much less risky. He

By: Lance Winslowl Investing > Stocksl July 11, 2012 lViews: 433

Now then, have you ever wondered what's up with our known, sensed, and observed reality - have you ever considered that it all started with a simple plan, or a simple set of rules, much like particle

By: Lance Winslowl Reference & Education > Naturel July 08, 2012 lViews: 313

Discuss this Article

comments powered by Disqus