Author Box
Articles Categories
All Categories
Articles Resources

Stiff - the Curious Life of Human Cadavers

August 11, 2008 | Comments: 0 | Views: 109

Do you know why cadavers look swollen after they rot? That is thanks to all those little flesh eating creatures we call maggots and bacteria. They too have secretion system. The only different is, when we die, our muscle stops working (d'oh!) thus OUR secretion system fail to dispose any garbage within our body. Voila! We become their toilet.

Have you seen Wizard of Oz? One of the characters "melts" when she dies. That's what happens to cadavers too. They simply melt after awhile.

Human is supposedly still alive even after the bodies are separated from their heads, they will stay alert and aware of their surroundings, and most probably still able to feel pain.

There's and old tradition in China that daughter in laws should show their respect to their mother in laws, by providing some of their own meat and serve it as soup for the mother in laws when they fall ill.

THOSE are some of the stuffs you'll learn from Stiff, The Curious Life of Human Cadaver.

It's been around for quite sometimes, so I was late reading it.

The writer's style is totally cool and funny. If you think you'll be reading a boring texbook-like book, you're absolutely wrong. I giggle while reading it. And for that, I earn a name of "Girl with weird taste of books."

It is written by Mary Roach a columnist in among others Vogue and GQ magazines.

Drop by to the excerpts page for some quick peek.

Totally recommended!! As long as you don't get nauseous easily.

Nita Prihanto Freelance Writer

Source: EzineArticles
Was this Helpful ?

Rate this Article

Article Tags:





Mary Roach




Good Book

Finding and collecting vintage comic books for fun and profit is something that is interesting, but can be difficult. With so many places to look, narrowing down the options can be painstaking, until

By: Jorge Orduna l Book Reviews > Comics Humor l July 07, 2012 lViews: 286

Action packed story that reads like you are there in person. Lieutenant Commander Andrew Carlson was a U.S. Navy Seal. He was as rough and tough as they come. He was part of a mission to be inserted

By: Cy Hilterman l Book Reviews > Mysteries Thrillers l July 06, 2012 lViews: 278

"Look Me In The Eye, If You Dare!" Okay, all of You "Internet Millionaire Moguls," I want some answers, and I want them now.

By: Travis L Perkins l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 309

Crush it is a great "How to" book on using social media and being real with yourself on what you do. Gary is very passionate about what he does. The key to his success is blending who he is with what

By: Joe Mosed l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 546

My resolution this year was to knuckle down and do something to bring in some new clients for my practice, so I was pleased to see that Internet Marketing Bible for Accountants looked like it might

By: Karen K Jefferson l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 295

When promoting your business online, are you using internet marketing? If you have yet to spread your branches into the online world, you ought to consider doing so.

By: Joyce McNeill Christopher l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 281

Cracking EAMCET is questions is tricky but easy than it is imagined. Once a student has thorough grip over the subject, then the question paper can be solved with much ease.

By: Javed Shaikl Book Reviews > Biologyl May 26, 2012 lViews: 250

In 1812, the 'Father of Paleontology', Baron Georges Cuvier, rashly pronounced that 'there is little hope of discovering a new species' of large animals and that naturalists should concentrate on

By: Simon A Hel Book Reviews > Biologyl April 02, 2012 lViews: 309

A Review of the Book - "First Life" Designed to accompany the two-part television series, "David Attenborough's First Life" covers the billions of years of time, leading up to the development of

By: Mike Walleyl Book Reviews > Biologyl January 09, 2012 lViews: 216

This review examines the book "A Field Guide to Warblers of North America", by Dunn and Garrett, part of the Peterson Field Guide series, commonly referred to as the "Peterson Warblers Guide". This

By: Alex Zorachl Book Reviews > Biologyl December 26, 2011 lViews: 190

The book Ornithology, by Frank B. Gill, is one of the most widely-used textbooks on the subject of ornithology. This critical book review gives an overview of my experience with this book, and what I

By: Alex Zorachl Book Reviews > Biologyl December 26, 2011 lViews: 222

This book review of Ecology: The Ascendent Perspective by Robert Ulanowicz highlights both my personal story of reading this book, including how it influenced me as a thinker, and a more professional

By: Alex Zorachl Book Reviews > Biologyl December 25, 2011 lViews: 190

Discuss this Article

comments powered by Disqus