Author Box
Articles Categories
All Categories
Articles Resources

Packing for Mars, The Curious Science of Life in the Void

February 25, 2011 | Comments: 0 | Views: 137

I was not really surprised when I came to know about Mary Roach's latest effort. Mary's books have always been based on extremely curious topics.

Mary Roach has yet again proved herself with packing for mars, she has found another unique topic to investigate and write about.

Her style of writing remains the same in this book, hilarious, direct and bizarre! She visits some topics like cadavers (actual dead people not crash test dummies) used for testing purposes and also some new titillating subjects, such as sex in space.

Mary Roach pushes the reader into the world of space flight and the difficulties of living in space, how do astronauts go to the toilet? do they really recycle their own urine and then precede to drink it? At the moment there are no baths and showers in space so how do they not stink of body odour all day long? Some other serious topics are discussed like what happens when you vomit in a spacesuit, and how do you survive if this happens to you when spacewalking?

She visits some interesting experiences that the original space pioneers had, for example how about the Apollo astronauts that could not stop farting...

For me packing for mars is her best book since "Stiff" which is one my all time favorites, i find it hard not to laugh out load when reading this particular book, which can sometimes be a little embarrassing.

Packing for mars is not just humorous but it also does a good job at explaining technical and scientific topics. Her style of writing is simple, she manages to get the main points across so that science people and non tech minded peeps can understand.

For more info. click here

For more cosmic book reviews do check out thanks.

Source: EzineArticles
Was this Helpful ?

Rate this Article

Article Tags:

Packing For Mars The Curious Science Of Life In The Void


Packing For Mars The Curious Science Of Lif

Finding and collecting vintage comic books for fun and profit is something that is interesting, but can be difficult. With so many places to look, narrowing down the options can be painstaking, until

By: Jorge Orduna l Book Reviews > Comics Humor l July 07, 2012 lViews: 286

Action packed story that reads like you are there in person. Lieutenant Commander Andrew Carlson was a U.S. Navy Seal. He was as rough and tough as they come. He was part of a mission to be inserted

By: Cy Hilterman l Book Reviews > Mysteries Thrillers l July 06, 2012 lViews: 278

"Look Me In The Eye, If You Dare!" Okay, all of You "Internet Millionaire Moguls," I want some answers, and I want them now.

By: Travis L Perkins l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 311

Crush it is a great "How to" book on using social media and being real with yourself on what you do. Gary is very passionate about what he does. The key to his success is blending who he is with what

By: Joe Mosed l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 547

My resolution this year was to knuckle down and do something to bring in some new clients for my practice, so I was pleased to see that Internet Marketing Bible for Accountants looked like it might

By: Karen K Jefferson l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 296

When promoting your business online, are you using internet marketing? If you have yet to spread your branches into the online world, you ought to consider doing so.

By: Joyce McNeill Christopher l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 282

Cracking EAMCET is questions is tricky but easy than it is imagined. Once a student has thorough grip over the subject, then the question paper can be solved with much ease.

By: Javed Shaikl Book Reviews > Biologyl May 26, 2012 lViews: 251

In 1812, the 'Father of Paleontology', Baron Georges Cuvier, rashly pronounced that 'there is little hope of discovering a new species' of large animals and that naturalists should concentrate on

By: Simon A Hel Book Reviews > Biologyl April 02, 2012 lViews: 311

A Review of the Book - "First Life" Designed to accompany the two-part television series, "David Attenborough's First Life" covers the billions of years of time, leading up to the development of

By: Mike Walleyl Book Reviews > Biologyl January 09, 2012 lViews: 217

This review examines the book "A Field Guide to Warblers of North America", by Dunn and Garrett, part of the Peterson Field Guide series, commonly referred to as the "Peterson Warblers Guide". This

By: Alex Zorachl Book Reviews > Biologyl December 26, 2011 lViews: 192

The book Ornithology, by Frank B. Gill, is one of the most widely-used textbooks on the subject of ornithology. This critical book review gives an overview of my experience with this book, and what I

By: Alex Zorachl Book Reviews > Biologyl December 26, 2011 lViews: 225

This book review of Ecology: The Ascendent Perspective by Robert Ulanowicz highlights both my personal story of reading this book, including how it influenced me as a thinker, and a more professional

By: Alex Zorachl Book Reviews > Biologyl December 25, 2011 lViews: 191