Author Box
Articles Categories
All Categories
Articles Resources

Bioterrorism and Bio-violence Considered - Book Review

December 12, 2010 | Comments: 0 | Views: 139

So, what keeps you up at night? Yes, a question I was recently asked as a founder of a Think Tank - and in considering this I can say that nothing keeps me from sound sleep, but there are things I am completely troubled by, for instance bio-terrorism of bio-violence (both interchangeable words in my opinion). But before one gets frightened out of their wits, or allows fear to take over their psyche, there is a very good book, which I'd like to recommend to you.

Indeed, this was one of the books I read over the weekend, and I must say I was quite impressed. So much so that I wanted to write up this quick little book review to tell you about it. The name of the book is;

"Bioviolence - Preventing Biological Terror and Crime" by Barry Kellman, Cambridge University Press, New York, NY, 2006, 362 pages, ISBN: 978-0-521-88325-2.

This is a great research reference book to have for anyone studying bioterrorism. I own it because our Think Tank often talks on this subject, luckily I picked it up inexpensively at a used book sale. I noted on the front page this book I own was once given to someone as a gift and inside the front cover it read: "To Paul, With all my best wishes. Peace, Barry Kellman." I thought to myself, how interesting that someone would sign a book "with all my best wishes, and peace" when it had to do with such a serious topic a bio-terrorism.

However, after reading the book, I understand why the author signed the book that way, as within these pages are excellent suggestions of how to stop bioviolence and terrorism in the future. Some of these suggestions I might add have also appeared in bio-defense protocols in industry, government, military, and with NGOs. In fact, the same advice was recently quoted in a GAO report I read.

I'd also like you to consider not only this book, but some of the books by Richard Preston - you can find him also on Amazon or at any major bookseller. I think you should read a couple of his books in conjunction with this one. In fact, while I have you hear, let me also recommend;

"Biological warfare, bioterrorism, biodefence and the biological and toxin weapons convention," by Edgar J. DaSilva. I believe you can find that paper online in a ".PDF format" on Google. Lastly, I recommend you also read; " The Great Influenza: The Epic Story of the Deadliest Plague In History" by John Barry. Once you read all this, then you will realize why I worry about such things. Be well my friends, and realize there are some very smart folks looking out for you and your family when it comes to bioterrorism.

Lance Winslow is the Founder of the Online Think Tank, a diverse group of achievers, experts, innovators, entrepreneurs, thinkers, futurists, academics, dreamers, leaders, and general all around brilliant minds. Lance Winslow hopes you've enjoyed today's discussion and topic. - Have an important subject to discuss, contact Lance Winslow.

Source: EzineArticles
Was this Helpful ?

Rate this Article

Article Tags:

Studying Bioterrorism


Book Review


Research Reference Book


Bio Violence


Lance Winslow


Think Tank

Finding and collecting vintage comic books for fun and profit is something that is interesting, but can be difficult. With so many places to look, narrowing down the options can be painstaking, until

By: Jorge Orduna l Book Reviews > Comics Humor l July 07, 2012 lViews: 286

Action packed story that reads like you are there in person. Lieutenant Commander Andrew Carlson was a U.S. Navy Seal. He was as rough and tough as they come. He was part of a mission to be inserted

By: Cy Hilterman l Book Reviews > Mysteries Thrillers l July 06, 2012 lViews: 278

"Look Me In The Eye, If You Dare!" Okay, all of You "Internet Millionaire Moguls," I want some answers, and I want them now.

By: Travis L Perkins l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 310

Crush it is a great "How to" book on using social media and being real with yourself on what you do. Gary is very passionate about what he does. The key to his success is blending who he is with what

By: Joe Mosed l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 547

My resolution this year was to knuckle down and do something to bring in some new clients for my practice, so I was pleased to see that Internet Marketing Bible for Accountants looked like it might

By: Karen K Jefferson l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 296

When promoting your business online, are you using internet marketing? If you have yet to spread your branches into the online world, you ought to consider doing so.

By: Joyce McNeill Christopher l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 282

Cracking EAMCET is questions is tricky but easy than it is imagined. Once a student has thorough grip over the subject, then the question paper can be solved with much ease.

By: Javed Shaikl Book Reviews > Biologyl May 26, 2012 lViews: 251

In 1812, the 'Father of Paleontology', Baron Georges Cuvier, rashly pronounced that 'there is little hope of discovering a new species' of large animals and that naturalists should concentrate on

By: Simon A Hel Book Reviews > Biologyl April 02, 2012 lViews: 310

A Review of the Book - "First Life" Designed to accompany the two-part television series, "David Attenborough's First Life" covers the billions of years of time, leading up to the development of

By: Mike Walleyl Book Reviews > Biologyl January 09, 2012 lViews: 217

This review examines the book "A Field Guide to Warblers of North America", by Dunn and Garrett, part of the Peterson Field Guide series, commonly referred to as the "Peterson Warblers Guide". This

By: Alex Zorachl Book Reviews > Biologyl December 26, 2011 lViews: 191

The book Ornithology, by Frank B. Gill, is one of the most widely-used textbooks on the subject of ornithology. This critical book review gives an overview of my experience with this book, and what I

By: Alex Zorachl Book Reviews > Biologyl December 26, 2011 lViews: 223

This book review of Ecology: The Ascendent Perspective by Robert Ulanowicz highlights both my personal story of reading this book, including how it influenced me as a thinker, and a more professional

By: Alex Zorachl Book Reviews > Biologyl December 25, 2011 lViews: 191

If you are going to write articles online, you are going to inadvertently increase your critical thinking skills. The reason is simple - because as you are preparing an article you are explaining to

By: Lance Winslowl Self Improvement > Mind Developmentl August 02, 2012 lViews: 302

Back when I was in high school and college I was a spectacular athlete, and I'm not afraid to say so now. At the time, it might not been inappropriate, as it would have shown an inflated ego, but I

By: Lance Winslowl Self Improvement > Mind Developmentl August 02, 2012 lViews: 496

Some say it takes brilliance to solve problems, and that may be so. The same folks will tell us that it takes a genius to not have the problem in the first place. Nevertheless, generally speaking

By: Lance Winslowl Business > Risk Managementl July 24, 2012 lViews: 239

Most people would agree that Mother Nature through evolution has done a wonderful job organizing things. There is a food chain, and cyclical events, and all the while all the species on the planet

By: Lance Winslowl Reference & Education > Naturel July 15, 2012 lViews: 218

A few months ago, I was at Starbucks talking to someone about stocks and bonds, he and his wife had worked hard and were worried about the stock market. They wanted something much less risky. He

By: Lance Winslowl Investing > Stocksl July 11, 2012 lViews: 434

Now then, have you ever wondered what's up with our known, sensed, and observed reality - have you ever considered that it all started with a simple plan, or a simple set of rules, much like particle

By: Lance Winslowl Reference & Education > Naturel July 08, 2012 lViews: 313

Discuss this Article

comments powered by Disqus