Author Box
Articles Categories
All Categories
Articles Resources

Bio Terrorism, Pandemics and Virus Vectors - Why We Need to Get the Word Out

November 20, 2010 | Comments: 0 | Views: 146

We seem to have a situation of denial in the US, perhaps it's because we live in such a clean environment with safe fresh water to drink, proper disposal services, and some of the best doctors and medicines in the world. We also have the best food supply chain. Yes, we live with abundance, but we must not let our guide down. There are dangers we must come to terms with, one of the most serious of course being disease, viruses, and the potential for pandemics or even bio-terrorism.

In fact, over the years I've recommended many books on the topic of bio-terrorism and natural pandemics, and what we can do about it. No, I am not meaning to scare anyone, more so, recommending that we educate the public to the reality of how serious things can get. Indeed, I've also recommended by Richard Preston such as Demons in the Freezer, Hot Zone, and Cobra event. Yes, I've also recommended classics on Influenza such as "The Great Influenza - Epic Story of the Deadliest Plague in History," written by John M. Barry.

Today, however, I'd like to recommend an extremely good book that is simple to read, 100% spot on with important information, and written in a way that anyone can comprehend. It's vital that our citizenry and policy makers get it. I recommend that you read this book, it's one I own and use as a reference, it is flat excellent:

"Pandemic" by Gary C. Ridenour, M.D., Jack Bacon and Company Publishers, Reno, NV, (2007), pages 101, ISBN: 0-930083-35-0

If you never read another book in your entire life on the issues of flu pandemics - READ THIS ONE! Dr. Ridenour was a Naval Doctor, and as you know they have some of the greatest doctors in the world in the US Navy, it's a necessity. What he has to say is the straight skinny, and this book is accurate and to the point without wasting the readers time. Although it is only 101 pages, it's filled with 100 pages of what you need to know. So, I hereby recommend this book for anyone and everyone who is interested in this topic, and if you are not; You should be!

Lance Winslow is the Founder of the Online Think Tank, a diverse group of achievers, experts, innovators, entrepreneurs, thinkers, futurists, academics, dreamers, leaders, and general all around brilliant minds. Lance Winslow hopes you've enjoyed today's discussion and topic. - Have an important subject to discuss, contact Lance Winslow.

Source: EzineArticles
Was this Helpful ?

Rate this Article

Article Tags:

Bio Terrorism




Virus Vectors


Get The Word Out


Dr Gary Ridenour


Book Review


Virus Vectors

Finding and collecting vintage comic books for fun and profit is something that is interesting, but can be difficult. With so many places to look, narrowing down the options can be painstaking, until

By: Jorge Orduna l Book Reviews > Comics Humor l July 07, 2012 lViews: 286

Action packed story that reads like you are there in person. Lieutenant Commander Andrew Carlson was a U.S. Navy Seal. He was as rough and tough as they come. He was part of a mission to be inserted

By: Cy Hilterman l Book Reviews > Mysteries Thrillers l July 06, 2012 lViews: 278

"Look Me In The Eye, If You Dare!" Okay, all of You "Internet Millionaire Moguls," I want some answers, and I want them now.

By: Travis L Perkins l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 311

Crush it is a great "How to" book on using social media and being real with yourself on what you do. Gary is very passionate about what he does. The key to his success is blending who he is with what

By: Joe Mosed l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 547

My resolution this year was to knuckle down and do something to bring in some new clients for my practice, so I was pleased to see that Internet Marketing Bible for Accountants looked like it might

By: Karen K Jefferson l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 296

When promoting your business online, are you using internet marketing? If you have yet to spread your branches into the online world, you ought to consider doing so.

By: Joyce McNeill Christopher l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 282

Cracking EAMCET is questions is tricky but easy than it is imagined. Once a student has thorough grip over the subject, then the question paper can be solved with much ease.

By: Javed Shaikl Book Reviews > Biologyl May 26, 2012 lViews: 251

In 1812, the 'Father of Paleontology', Baron Georges Cuvier, rashly pronounced that 'there is little hope of discovering a new species' of large animals and that naturalists should concentrate on

By: Simon A Hel Book Reviews > Biologyl April 02, 2012 lViews: 311

A Review of the Book - "First Life" Designed to accompany the two-part television series, "David Attenborough's First Life" covers the billions of years of time, leading up to the development of

By: Mike Walleyl Book Reviews > Biologyl January 09, 2012 lViews: 217

This review examines the book "A Field Guide to Warblers of North America", by Dunn and Garrett, part of the Peterson Field Guide series, commonly referred to as the "Peterson Warblers Guide". This

By: Alex Zorachl Book Reviews > Biologyl December 26, 2011 lViews: 192

The book Ornithology, by Frank B. Gill, is one of the most widely-used textbooks on the subject of ornithology. This critical book review gives an overview of my experience with this book, and what I

By: Alex Zorachl Book Reviews > Biologyl December 26, 2011 lViews: 225

This book review of Ecology: The Ascendent Perspective by Robert Ulanowicz highlights both my personal story of reading this book, including how it influenced me as a thinker, and a more professional

By: Alex Zorachl Book Reviews > Biologyl December 25, 2011 lViews: 191

If you are going to write articles online, you are going to inadvertently increase your critical thinking skills. The reason is simple - because as you are preparing an article you are explaining to

By: Lance Winslowl Self Improvement > Mind Developmentl August 02, 2012 lViews: 302

Back when I was in high school and college I was a spectacular athlete, and I'm not afraid to say so now. At the time, it might not been inappropriate, as it would have shown an inflated ego, but I

By: Lance Winslowl Self Improvement > Mind Developmentl August 02, 2012 lViews: 496

Some say it takes brilliance to solve problems, and that may be so. The same folks will tell us that it takes a genius to not have the problem in the first place. Nevertheless, generally speaking

By: Lance Winslowl Business > Risk Managementl July 24, 2012 lViews: 239

Most people would agree that Mother Nature through evolution has done a wonderful job organizing things. There is a food chain, and cyclical events, and all the while all the species on the planet

By: Lance Winslowl Reference & Education > Naturel July 15, 2012 lViews: 219

A few months ago, I was at Starbucks talking to someone about stocks and bonds, he and his wife had worked hard and were worried about the stock market. They wanted something much less risky. He

By: Lance Winslowl Investing > Stocksl July 11, 2012 lViews: 434

Now then, have you ever wondered what's up with our known, sensed, and observed reality - have you ever considered that it all started with a simple plan, or a simple set of rules, much like particle

By: Lance Winslowl Reference & Education > Naturel July 08, 2012 lViews: 313

Discuss this Article

comments powered by Disqus