Author Box
Articles Categories
All Categories
Articles Resources

Book Review of "The Other Wes Moore"

February 14, 2012 | Comments: 0 | Views: 308

What if you got to meet another person who shared your name? What if you had similar backgrounds but different outcomes? What would be the deciding factor that determined that outcome? If you, today, could be the inspiration to guide that outcome, would you be willing to play a role?

Wes Moore shares the two stories of himself and "The Other Wes Moore". The author has experienced opportunities of a lifetime, while the other is serving a life sentence in prison without the possibility of parole on a murder charge.

The author's grandfather came to America and attended college at Lincoln University. He went on to be a minister. He was mentored by the man who went on to become the president of Ghana.

The author made mention that state governments have determined that the reading scores of third graders indicate the future prison population. That is why early academic emphasis is so important.

Both boys grew up in Baltimore in single parent homes. The author's mother sent him to military school because she didn't want him to have the same fate seen in many of the city's youth.

The other Wes Moore was convicted of murder in the death of a police officer who was guarding a jewelry store. There were four men involved in the crime. He maintains that he was not there but has been unable to prove his case.

The author was studying abroad in Africa when his mother shared the news story about the young man with the same name. When he saw the newspaper articles, it impressed on him that this could easily have been his story. He began corresponding and visiting the other Wes Moore. Over several years, the conversations became the plot of this book.

When the author reflected back to the time spent with his host family in Africa, he was impressed by the tradition of the young boys becoming men during their time spent in the bush with the elders. He wondered if the same mentoring done in that culture could be the difference of the outcome for our youth here.

He ends the book with a large resources of youth mentoring organizations that we can participate in. We really can make a difference. We may not be able to prevent our prisons from being filled, but we can make a difference in the life of one young person. It matters to them.

Author, Laura Schroeder enjoys sharing her life experiences and encouraging others. She has worked in the criminal justice system for seven years. If her articles have been helpful, you may contact her at Please make any comments family friendly.

Source: EzineArticles
Was this Helpful ?

Rate this Article

Article Tags:

Book Review


Early Intervention




Youth Crime



Finding and collecting vintage comic books for fun and profit is something that is interesting, but can be difficult. With so many places to look, narrowing down the options can be painstaking, until

By: Jorge Orduna l Book Reviews > Comics Humor l July 07, 2012 lViews: 285

Action packed story that reads like you are there in person. Lieutenant Commander Andrew Carlson was a U.S. Navy Seal. He was as rough and tough as they come. He was part of a mission to be inserted

By: Cy Hilterman l Book Reviews > Mysteries Thrillers l July 06, 2012 lViews: 278

"Look Me In The Eye, If You Dare!" Okay, all of You "Internet Millionaire Moguls," I want some answers, and I want them now.

By: Travis L Perkins l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 309

Crush it is a great "How to" book on using social media and being real with yourself on what you do. Gary is very passionate about what he does. The key to his success is blending who he is with what

By: Joe Mosed l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 546

My resolution this year was to knuckle down and do something to bring in some new clients for my practice, so I was pleased to see that Internet Marketing Bible for Accountants looked like it might

By: Karen K Jefferson l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 295

When promoting your business online, are you using internet marketing? If you have yet to spread your branches into the online world, you ought to consider doing so.

By: Joyce McNeill Christopher l Book Reviews > Internet Marketing l June 29, 2012 lViews: 281

If you are interested in metaphysics at all, learning about these individuals is unavoidable. If you had to choose teachers to research, these metaphysical teachers can tell you the most about the

By: Nina M Capeloutol Book Reviews > Biographies Memoirsl June 19, 2012 lViews: 211

One of the most enduring-popular of English-speaking authors, a major biography of Charles Dickens takes us through his fascinating life against the backdrop of Victorian Britain. A major novelist

By: Katharine M Trelawneyl Book Reviews > Biographies Memoirsl June 19, 2012 lViews: 210

In book one of his memoirs, Back Channel: The Kennedy Years, author William Bertram MacFarland offers an intriguing account of his life as the Special Assistant to the President of the United States.

By: Melissa Brown Levinel Book Reviews > Biographies Memoirsl June 18, 2012 lViews: 179

On September 18, 2007, Randy Pausch delivered his now, world renowned speech entitled, "The Last Lecture." Pausch was a professor of computer science at Pittsburgh's Carnegie Mellon University,

By: Timothy Zaunl Book Reviews > Biographies Memoirsl June 16, 2012 lViews: 258

This is an autobiography, a political history of Pakistan by one of the scions of a prominent Baluch family and a practicing politician. It is also an indictment of Zulfiqar Ali Bhutto, the ex-Prime

By: Tarique R Memonl Book Reviews > Biographies Memoirsl June 10, 2012 lViews: 218

One of the few political personalities in recent history, who have generated and maintained a lot of charisma and respect, is Nelson Mandela. His autobiography is still an inspiration for those who

By: Tarique R Memonl Book Reviews > Biographies Memoirsl June 10, 2012 lViews: 229

When we use the word "multicultural", we tend to think about people in other countries. However, even in our own country we have multiple cultures. Sharing our stories brings us together so that our

By: Laura Schroederl Book Reviews > Biographies Memoirsl June 08, 2012 lViews: 209

You learn who real friends are quickly. Don't let the good ones get away. Little quirks become less important when you get to the heart of the matter.

By: Laura Schroederl Relationships > Friendshipl May 30, 2012 lViews: 193

Sometimes change comes when and where you least expect it. Wherever your everyday path leads you is an opportunity to make a difference. We may not have the same experiences that Greg Mortenson did

By: Laura Schroederl Book Reviews > Multiculturall January 05, 2012 lViews: 207