Author Box
Articles Categories
All Categories
Articles Resources

365 Thank Yous by John Kralik - Abundance Book Review - The Power of Practicing Daily Gratitude

May 09, 2011 | Comments: 0 | Views: 222

Like everyone else, John Kralik, has had his share of life's trials and tribulations. Once he began to appreciate his already abundant existence, instead of focusing on what he lacked; the universe responded kindly. He chronicles his revelations in his book, "365 Thank Yous-The Year a Simple Act of Daily Gratitude Changed My Life."

In 2007, Kralik hit rock bottom. After 28 years as a lawyer, he had little to show for his efforts. His first marriage had failed and his two adult sons had financially drained him. His second union lingered in divorce; and his girlfriend of late, Grace, ended their relationship. He was 40 pounds overweight and his small law firm was facing eviction.

Kralik had planned to hike the three-mile, Echo Mountain trail above Pasadena, California with Grace. After she ended their relationship, he decided to walk the mountains solo.

During his travels, he heard an inner voice telling him "Until you learn to be grateful for the things you have, you will not receive the things you want." Kralik's 365 Thank Yous project originated from that experience. He vowed to find one person each day to appreciate and thank with a note.

Instant and long-term karmic success appeared after Kralik began his thank you project. Upon renewing ties with his two grown sons; they both voluntarily repaid loans he'd long written off. Kralik's law firm, subjected to new landlords and higher rental rates; found alternative, majestic dwellings overlooking the Los Angeles skyline.

Most significant was Kralik's appointment as a County Judge in 2008. After the summer of 2006, Kralik began the long application process to become a judge. By mid-2007, all of his County judicial vacancies had been filled. Yet, ultimately, Kralik prevailed through a turn of events; and realized his dream.

A routine spell check revealed that Kralik had been mis-spelling the word, grateful as grateful, his entire life. He shamefully realized how little he had expressed the emotion.

Unknowingly, several thank you notes Kralik would write would be the last communication he'd have with certain contacts before they died.

Kralik kept a thank you project spreadsheet, chronicling all of his thank you notes he'd penned. It helped weave his life's story.

When Kralik's girlfriend, Grace, broke up with him in October 2007; they remained friends. Both had written thank you notes to each other while dating, which had mutual healing effects. "We can look back at concerts or trips, or mornings together; and still be grateful for what we had, rather than be bitter about what we lost."

By the end of June 2008, Kralik had written 168 thank you notes. To keep pace with his original, annual goal; he began acknowledging nondescript, quotidian interactions. He thought of these as "extreme thank yous."

He thanked his regular coffee shop Barista; who was taken aback by his gesture, since most communications she received were customer complaints. He thanked courtroom clerks who prepared his legal documents, and his hairstylist too.

He discovered a twenty-one year-old card filed away from his first wife. Its simple message said, "Let me love you." He realized, that when the card was written, he was oblivious to his wife's plea. And, he wondered, if he had been attuned to her thoughts back then, what might have been.

Writing thank you notes helped Kralik live more consciously; and appreciate the moment: "Yet by being thankful for what I had, I realized that I had everything I needed."

Kralik's candor is noteworthy. American men are taught early on to guard their emotions, to prevent an aura of vulnerability. He acknowledges this himself: " Even now I am a bit embarrassed by how open I was becoming about my feelings that spring. I come from a generation in which men are taught not to say such things."

He's convinced that handwriting Thank you notes is important and special; and forces a concentration on the task. He also suggests writing a lot of them.

In today's challenging world, it's easy to focus on its negativity. Kralik's 356 Thank Yous is a reminder of how abundant each of our lives really are.

For tips on how to write a thank-you note, visit:

Timothy Zaun is a blogger, speaker and freelance writer. Visit him online at

Source: EzineArticles
Was this Helpful ?

Rate this Article

Article Tags:

365 Thank Yous


John Kralik






Memoir Book Review


National Thank You Month



Imagine a 10,000 piece jigsaw complete with a picture and then a tornado comes along and rips it apart, the pieces scattered and the picture lost. Imagine that jigsaw falling back to earth in some

By: Tim Holmes l Self Improvement > Empowerment l August 12, 2012 lViews: 334

Personal growth and understanding of self are no different. We fear that which we do not understand and it is a choice as to what we do with that feeling of fear. I now understand myself very well

By: Tim Holmes l Self Improvement > Personal Growth l August 12, 2012 lViews: 309

If you are going to write articles online, you are going to inadvertently increase your critical thinking skills. The reason is simple - because as you are preparing an article you are explaining to

By: Lance Winslow l Self Improvement > Mind Development l August 02, 2012 lViews: 301

Back when I was in high school and college I was a spectacular athlete, and I'm not afraid to say so now. At the time, it might not been inappropriate, as it would have shown an inflated ego, but I

By: Lance Winslow l Self Improvement > Mind Development l August 02, 2012 lViews: 495

Brainwave entrainment is a great resource for self-hypnosis and can be very effective in helping you to access the brainwave frequency that allows you to change your core programming by changing your

By: Wanina Petlock l Self Improvement > Mind Development l August 01, 2012 lViews: 248

Simply put, brainwave entrainment is a process that uses sound patterns to change your dominant brainwave to a specific brainwave frequency that produces a certain, desired effect. Entrainment can

By: Wanina Petlock l Self Improvement > Mind Development l August 01, 2012 lViews: 235

Let's talk about money. Why do some people have it while others don't? Why are some people able to make more and more and more of it while other people seem to struggle with holding on to it long

By: Dr Saira Sabzaalil Self Improvement > Abundance Prosperityl April 26, 2012 lViews: 195

In this article, we are going to separate myths from facts in order to have a better understanding of the Law of Attraction and our innate ability to create our own destiny. The Law of Attraction is

By: Jonathan Balolongl Self Improvement > Abundance Prosperityl April 25, 2012 lViews: 230

One of the toughest things to have to deal with when working towards abundance and prosperity is dealing with passive aggressive people. They are not being outwardly mean to you, they may even seem

By: Sean M. Adamsl Self Improvement > Abundance Prosperityl April 25, 2012 lViews: 448

If you want to be successful, and after all who doesn't, you need to know you cannot get there on your own. We all only achieve success when we realize that we need help along the way and learn to

By: Sean M. Adamsl Self Improvement > Abundance Prosperityl April 25, 2012 lViews: 269

It may seem strange that this is something that needs to get addressed, but the more and more skilled you get at creating your abundance and prosperity, the more success you are going to have. And it

By: Sean M. Adamsl Self Improvement > Abundance Prosperityl April 24, 2012 lViews: 246

We all want to be a success, we all want to live up to our potential, but sometimes it seems our potential is not where it needs to be in order to achieve the success we desire. This is ok, as long

By: Sean M. Adamsl Self Improvement > Abundance Prosperityl April 23, 2012 lViews: 201

New York Times bestselling author, Linda Castillo, released "Gone Missing" on June 19. It's the fourth in a series featuring former Amish woman Kate Burkholder. Excommunicated from the church, fate

By: Timothy Zaunl Book Reviews > Mysteries Thrillersl June 29, 2012 lViews: 333

On September 18, 2007, Randy Pausch delivered his now, world renowned speech entitled, "The Last Lecture." Pausch was a professor of computer science at Pittsburgh's Carnegie Mellon University,

By: Timothy Zaunl Book Reviews > Biographies Memoirsl June 16, 2012 lViews: 258

Pulitzer Prize-winning author, Anne Tyler (The Accidental Tourist), returns with her 19th fiction book, "The Beginner's Goodbye." Tyler has a talent for portraying ordinary lives with humor and

By: Timothy Zaunl Book Reviews > Fictionl June 07, 2012 lViews: 265

Whether you create a physical product, or a product as an experience or service, how do you keep developing it over the course of its life cycle? In today's hyper-competitive marketplace, you need to

By: Timothy Zaunl Book Reviews > Businessl June 06, 2012 lViews: 156

Six diverse men and women enroll in Emma Yoder's six-week quilting class, each bringing their unique life story and challenges to the group dynamics. Their lives are re-invented, as Emma befriends

By: Timothy Zaunl Book Reviews > Fictionl May 25, 2012 lViews: 213

Is your company (regardless of size), eager to become more innovative? Phil McKinney, author of the new book, "Beyond The Obvious: Killer Questions That Spark Game-Changing Innovation," leads the

By: Timothy Zaunl Book Reviews > Businessl April 23, 2012 lViews: 208

Discuss this Article

comments powered by Disqus